Starbucks Screws up Disabled Rights AGAIN! This Time You’ll Think I am Kidding

If you are human and from this universe you have a starbucks close by. There is one I used to go to quite often on the corner of 13th st and Park Ave in Union Square, Manhattan. There are two entrances at this Starbucks. The one on the 13th street side has a ramp and at the bottom of the ramp they always had their table that is designated for wheelchair use.  Starbucks has one of these designated tables in every store.

In this store they have a weird set up. It is on two levels with a staircase in the middle of the store. If you’re in a wheelchair and enter from the Park Avenue side you can buy a coffee because the counter is down a flight of stairs. Today I rolled around the corner to the wheelchair entrance, went in and down the ramp and the store had been redecorated. I asked where the table for wheelchair users was? The young Asian girl in a workers apron pointed to the top part of the shop and said it’s up there. I was flabbergasted. I asked them if they were kidding. They replied no it’s up there. A crowd of workers gathered and I explained that wheelchairs can’t do stairs and they are a coffee shop and if I can’t get to the counter to order and pay what is the use of coming into the shop?

The reply I got was well we can take your credit card and go and get your coffee for you? I asked her if she would give her credit card to a stranger? She said “definitely not.” Exactly “I replied.” And what about the bathrooms?  I asked how I would get to the bathroom that would then be down a flight of stairs. Well she said, you can leave the store, roll around the block, come in the other entrance and use the ramp to use the bathroom then leave the store again, roll back around the block come in that entrance and drink your coffee! All the while leaving your drink unattended and hoping you spot hadn’t been taken. Sound likea peaceful cafe experience to any of you?

The Starbucks chain employed an architect. They drew up plans. They were approved the plans, spent thousands and ultimately they shifted the wheelchair table up a flight of stairs from the counter and the bathrooms. They built it in, they approved it at management level and no one worked out that they were putting the disabled wheelchair bound up a staircase? The award for Stupid Corporation of the month for the dozenth time in a couple of years goes to STARBUCKS.

My momma says stupid is as stupid does. Who knew Forrest Gump had been to Starbucks.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

2 thoughts on “Starbucks Screws up Disabled Rights AGAIN! This Time You’ll Think I am Kidding”

  1. As a person who uses a mobility scooter, I often wonder why no one checks with the disability community to see if changes make sense. I am a member of the the Greenwich,CT 1st Selectmen’s Advisoty Committee on Disabilities. But the Town Employees don’t bother asking questions. Guess they think they no everything. We have a very nice Town Hall which did not have any Handicapped Restrooms. After making a big stink, we now have beautiful restrooms which are huge and fance like a nice hotel. But, it is frustrating to always have to complain.

Leave a comment