Everyone knows your disabled and can’t do anything that’s why you’re sick!

10pm Tuesday the 23rd of November I was talking with my wife watching tv and suddenly my face dropped and speech started slurring ,and it got worse by the second and later I was to find my left side had lost strength and coordination.

My wife called 911 and within 20 minutes I was in the ER of flushing hospital. Being treated for a possible stroke and had a ct.

The good news if there was any it wasn’t a full blown stroke but something called a TIA or transientaschemic attack, a TIA is a mini stroke the difference is the effects should wear off in 24 hours but the downside is they can hit in clusters.

There was a shift change in the ER and my new medico was a Nepalese doc called tenzin,I asked what caused this and he gave me a smartass look and said 

“well you’re disabled you do nothing people like you can’t do anything everyone knows the disabled can only sit and vegetate ”

Wtf ? I told him I rock climb , do judo , swim, do road races, am building a house off grid ,he called me delusional and wrote on my file that I not only did nothing but had delusions of a normal life?

I showed the nurses photographic proof and they said they were astounded an educated man could hold such antiquated views but they couldn’t argue with him.

My four days in hospital were hell, and with dietitians not giving me any food whatsoever for 36 hours , doctors mistakingly listing me as an insulin dependent diabetic and trying to inject me regularly  and when they did get me food it was not for a person with irritable. Bowel syndrome or vegan

 It begs the question if you cannot get competent care in a hospital where can you get it?

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

