The patient suffers when The medical world creates addicts

 

Eighteen years ago a young trans woman who had been a speed addict using a gram a day of pure speed up their nose got clean and stayed clean for ten days, and during that ten days the dealer who kept the trans woman high was getting pissed so they found the trans woman and created a speed ball (a mixture of speed and heroin and injected the woman) the woman had never injected only snorted.

The local doctor found a dumped woman unconscious on her practice doorstep when she came in the morning to open up for the day, the benevolent doctor hooked the trans woman up to a drip of electrolytes and put her in a room for 24 hours and detoxed her, that trans woman was me and I have been clean for eighteen years.

That was until I had the misfortune to ever meet an orthopedic surgeon called dr jobin, he did surgery to repair a 97% tear in my left rotator cuff and repair a fracture to the scapula and a strangulated group of nerves connected to my left bicep.

All good you say ,well except for the so called doctor who left one of the five surgical wounds he created completely unstitched! Yes a surgeon left the surgical wound gaping open.

Then to handle the pain they told me would only last a few weeks but he sent me home get this one person with the following.

Percocet

Hydro-morphine

Oxy-contin

Oxy-codeine

Naprosyn

Acetametaphine-(hospital grade Tylenol)

And just kept telling me to take combinations of them in handfuls every four hours to handle the excruciating pain, when one would stop working the instructions were just take the next or a combination of the two.

Then after sending someone home whom the doctor had full knowledge of their addict past with the above drugs, he just decides to keep writing refills not for 5 days or 10 days but for 60 days then cuts them off cold turkey! And if you called to get medical advice about the ongoing pain the doctor delegated my personal intimate file to his receptionist to answer questions?

A non-medical high school educated woman having unfettered access to patient records and asked by the doctor to make medical decisions?

So I was on the hydro morphine first and went cold turkey off it when it ran out,  I went on the oxy codeine it just ran out monday, the pain is still excruciating and use of my left arm limited to the weight of a coffee cup.

I thought  I had detoxed but going from morphine to codeine  just kept the opioid tank full, thanks to a doctor with the moral and ethics of a 10th ave drug dealer I have been home for the last 72 hours sweating cramping crapping puking basically coming off drugs stronger than the sped ever was because of a doctor who would rather keep the drug companies happy than the patient safe.

His alternative is cold turkey then go to a so called pain management clinic where a woman younger than most of my shoes will teach me to think of “pretty things” when I want pain meds? Well miss pretty  things  you have your large body smashed against a steel post by a street gang then an incompetent doctor who forgets to stitch patients back up when he’s finished cuts not one but five holes in your shoulder and then sends you home alone to handle it yourself then see if pretty things do it for you?

I was proud of my sobriety and now it has been shit on by doctor drug dealer and his band of happy dealers.

So if my tweets are short and sharp this week or I finally tell that annoying liar on Facebook to go fuck herself I hope you understand, except the liar that’s all true.

So my friends next time a surgeon hands you a bag of drugs so big it should have a stick through it to carry it tell them go fuck themselves because two decades of hard work is not worth pissing on. Anyway the yukky side of detox is me going to the bathroom for the twenty third time in two hours! No wait that’s about to be twenty four

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

