BANG!!!!! Hey look up from the phone

 

I have screamed so many times the very words above as some pedestrian with their head down in their cell phone is about to walk into my wheelchair, Ella walks beside me and as a crowd approaches this is her “excuse me wheelchair, excuse me wheelchair EXCUSE ME WHEELCHAIR” then they’re still not looking up this is me BANG FUCK AND SHE STEPS AWAY JUST BEFORE THE BODIES MANGLE

Then some putz says as they look back into their phone “WOW THEY WERE RUDE ALL THEY HAD TO SAY WAS EXCUSE ME?”

Zeus is sitting beside me on Queens borough plaza Manhattan platform for the N or the Q train, and he is trained to sit in front of me and block me so my chair can’t roll onto the tracks and then when the train stops there is always a difference in height between the platform and the inside of the train carriage of sometimes up to 6 inches and also there is a gap of up to 6-8 inches between the platform and the train.

 

So Zeus when I yell “take me on” will run like a sled dog and pull me up and over the gap and the height difference and then when I was on the carriage he stops and sits under the seat next to me, then as others got on I would constantly repeat excuse me service dog “watch where you step service dog and again just like the faces in the cell phones Ella would say quietly and then a little louder and a little more and more and then as they were about to step on Zeus I would yell “SERVICE DOG WATCH YOUR FUCKING FEET” and then some malaka says “geez all you had to do was tell me”

When I’m on a train and I backup to about 12 inches from the door and people would constantly try to stand behind my chair and I would say “ don’t stand there mate if I roll back when the train shakes it’ll break your foot” and the best I would get was a grunt as they read their texts Ella and I would repeat the same thing and even get told to mind our own fucking business then the train would rattle the chair would land on their feet they would scream and fall to the floor and blame us for not warning them?

What do all these stories have in common? Invisibility, to the abelists community we don’t exist we don’t matter we are an inconvenience and when that inconvenience dares to interrupt their life fuck them and the horse they rode in on.

Cell phones I’m sure have already killed people, we have national statistics on texting and driving and talking on cell phones while driving but here’s the deal for a group or the government to study the effects of an action on someone the affected group has to matter and no matter how loud the government says we the disabled matter the non-enforcement of the AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT and the complete nonexistence of any details of injury to the disabled community by the abelists community  proves that to the government we don’t matter.

Don’t blame the person in the chair when you have broken toes from the chair landing on them if you’re too stupid to put down your phone and the same with walking into us because your text is more important.

Yes you can say this a rant from an upset disabled person and you’re probably right but hey ignore us when we write and you prove my point

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

