Ground control to major tom over night the world lost major tom, the star the icon the gentleman, David Bowie dead at 69

bowie

From the end of the 70’s till early 90’s I worked with my brothers who were already known worldwide as some of the most professional yet at the same time efficiently violent body guards and professional security of their day. I was protecting people on and off stage that my friends I went to school with could only ever see from the bleachers at rock concerts or from the posters on their bedroom walls.
The percentages were never in favor of them being as nice as they were talented, in fact most I would have gladly thrown out of the building if it were not that they paid my wage! Billy idol should have been medicated, ac/dc although nice were poster children for addhd van Morrison, a true gent but his wife should have had a house fall on her in munchkin land Tina turner was a goddess but David bowie was a pleasure to be around.
At different times David had his demons, but he was English gent and little did I know we were destined to meet again.
Most of my protection contracts were within Australia it went like, this get on the private plane when it landed before the client got off to face the press, then protect them to the hotel then from the hotel to the stadium from the stadium back to the hotel. The next day protect them while they did the rounds of radio stations and tv then back to the airport.
Sometimes my job was done at the airport but many times I stayed on a tour until they left Australia, then again a choice memorable few I stayed on for the whole of a tour.
After a while they all became one, but never David bowie he gave me the kind of great memories that allow one to still smile when their 90 in a home for the permanently bewildered.
Many years later I had transitioned and met Ella, and we moved to New York where I got my first job doing my real skills as a chef. my job was as pastry chef and catering manager for a gourmet catering company in Manhattan we catered the twin towers a lot we catered the united nations and for many of the movies filmed around manhattan.
A funny story made for a Bowie reunion.
My first week in the business in NYC an order came in for a movie set for three dozen scones, nobody told me American scones resembled albino bear turds and what you guys call “biscuits” are real English scones. So any way I was in the basement bakery filling the order and the Latino kitchen hands were packing it for delivery, when the owner came down screaming at me what were these? Holding up my scones calling them pills. Now the exhaust from the baking ovens was vented from the basement out the back wall of the building and we knew the shop owned the brown stone behind but also we knew that a couple of very private famous people lived in cloister of buildings next door.
So as the owner was screaming at me one of the Latino kitchen hands who barely spoke English was trying to tell the owner he should come upstairs someone wanted to speak to him, now to digress for a moment I was brought up by an English step father so whenever I hear English accents my ears prick up and suddenly through the floor I could hear a very distinct accent talking and laughing and I was called upstairs. When I topped the stairs who should be talking to the owner but David bowie, the exhaust it seems had been sending the smell of English scones over his back yard all morning, and like Hansel and Gretel’s bread crumb trail he had followed the smell.
Well suddenly I wasn’t being fired but applauded, bowie bought every single one of the proper English scones and became an occasional client because I could cook real English treats such as a real Yorkshire pudding. He remembered me from touring and we discussed my transition for a moment and for a small time all was good in the world.
That was in 1999 and I left that job in 2003 but the memories remain Of a young aussie keeping major tom safe and singing, and a newly transitioned chef cooking him scones and homemade marmalade is the bowie I will always love, so instead of crying about his passing let’s take his lead and
“Let’s dance, put on your red shoes and dance the blues, let’s play under the moonlight the serious moonlight” thankyou David for the memories and the music.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

