Doshi diagnostics on 147th st in flushing queens you are not ADA compliant or accessible

doshi5
A week ago I found a lump in my left breast, Immediately I panicked my mum died of cancer after having it five times in her life, two of my sisters dealt with it and my oldest brother battled melanoma after all were a clan of beach mad aussie with so many brown spots on us we look like a dot to dot game.
Ella rang my internist and she immediately fitted me in, she did an exam and said at my age (50+) it is not uncommon to have benign cysts but with my family background we can’t assume so she wrote an immediate referral to a radiology practice for a sonogram.
Now we live in flushing queens and we after many phone calls discovered one literally the other end of the street that crosses ours merely hundreds of yards from home and we made an appointment for 12 midday today.
Ella did all due diligence
1/ are you wheelchair accessible from the street?
2/ do you even know what accessible means?
3/once in your building are there any stairs?
4/ are the rooms my partner will roll into large enough for her wheelchair and be treated?
The woman answered all of these in the yes ,the hell yes even and now please don’t call me racist this sentence is merely to identify the offending idiot, the woman who answered all these questions had a very clear white sounding speaking voice in a practice with a Korean name(Doshi) and mainly a Korean speaking staff.
Well when we arrived the top of the ramps landing was so small and the doors opened outward so that if you were in a chair both the door open and a wheelchair present couldn’t happen simultaneously that should have been the first hint.
Secondly when the door opened as you can see in the pic below there is a small (less than 8 feet wide by 10ft long) waiting room which in fact isn’t a waiting room it’s a landing in the middle of a stair case
doshi2
Now Ella also pointed out my weight is more than 250lbs and at no time in the phone call did they even mention stairs at all, when we got there they had one of those stair case elevator chairs with a weight max of 200lbs but they also told me my wheelchair wasn’t allowed I had to use theirs which had a weight limit of 150lbs and Zeus my legal service dog was forbidden?
So I am now home after a 20 minute exchange with fools who thought stair cases and wheelchairs were a good mix without a sonogram because as you can see I never got within two flights of stairs of a sonogram tech I still have a lump I’m still scared shitless and I have to start all over again but Doshi diagnostics still has a wheelchair accessible sign on their front door and five fools who make the three stooges look like Mensa members laughing at the disabled from the top of a staircase..

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

2 thoughts on “Doshi diagnostics on 147th st in flushing queens you are not ADA compliant or accessible”

Leave a Reply

