jesus christ of latter day saints what do you actually do on your missions? because christianity has nothing to do with it

Ever since my inlaws bought the apartment we now live in the church 30ft from our wall is a mormon temple. You hear all about there missions”to go and spread the word of christ by their example, “so living a life it demands a question” in the book of matthew chapter 25 verse 45 the core of all missionary work is the verse “he who refuses but one of mine refuses me” they walk around with their white shirts narrow black ties and little badges that declare that some pimple faced virgin in secret underwear is and “elder”

If you have ever had the misfortune to have them as neighbors they are disgusting, in winter they never clear the snow, in fall there is two feet of leaves on the sidewalk and so much garbage builds up in their front garden it is woven into the fence rails yet when you say something they would give you a death stare and say “are you a church member?” and walk away.

I have been in a wheelchair permanantly almost 7 years and every day they see me. The sidewalk after hurricane sandy for two years on our block was non existent yet they would step around me as I struggled but never once ask if I needed help.
They would see Ella and I struggling with shopping five blocks from home, bags tied to a wheelchair andthey knew our front gates were thirty feet apart but not once did they ever help.
All of that pails in comparison to tonight, as the 7 train pulled into flushing main st station the end of the line and we came out of the elevator above ground on roosevelt ave, two mormon elders walked past both had water proof jackets with hoods and no bags and both were also using umbrellas. The wind was so strong it pushed me side ways as I attempted to push my wheelchair and the rain was strong and hard hitting it was causing my clothing to hang from my body like melting plastic and poor ella ws in the same situation and zeus was water logged.
“hey elder can we borrow one of your umbrellas we live next door to you?” we asked hoping for some relief, they laughed didn’t even bother to turn and look at us as they walked past and said a stern “no”

In the next five minutes as there doubely protected figures faded in the distance, the roads flooded to the point that the water filled the gutters and lapped the pavement and my white and grey sweater was black and hanging and my light colored leggings were black and falling off with the weight of the water and my teeth were chattering. We pushed through the rain and wind, and as we were two blocks from home two more mormons came the other way with a golf sized umbrella smiled mutterred merry christmas but offerred no help.

I am not christian but I grew up in evengelical baptist churches and like them or hate them if they saw us in that situation they would have got a car and drove us home. You’re not on a religous mission if you can walk past the disabled in a flooding rain storm and offer no help you’re just having a frat party semester abroad.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

