Keep them warm this winter NYC 2015

Merry Christmas and happy Chanukah to all my wonderful reader I need your help folks,
Every year she who must be obeyed and I raise funds to purchase and procure donations of and even make ourselves-
Coats
Hats
Scarves
Socks
All the above are given out the second week of December each year to New York’s homeless, It all started in 2003 when we lived on 88th and 1st and on 86th or 7th I can’t remember which was a large catholic cathedral with about a dozen marble steps to the towering front doors. Now to keep snow off these steps they had about four propane burners going.
So the week before Christmas that year we got hit with about 20 inches of snow in one night so the homeless started sleeping on the steps after services were finished each night.
Back then I could still walk and we took our English bulldog for a walk one night to see the Christmas lights in everyone’s windows, and as we got onto the block where the Catholic Church was the priest was telling the staff to “get those people off our steps they upset my parishioners”
As I am known for never being backward in coming forward I stormed across the block and confronted the priest, I started quoting the bible where it says “he who refuses but one of mine refuses me” and “suffer unto me the little children” now most don’t know they don’t mean actual children they mean babies in the teaching. The priest looked me up and down like I was crap and ordered me off the property.

Disgusted Ella and I decided then and there if those whose job it was to be compassionate and care didn’t even worse wouldn’t we must, so the first year we had help from a famous actor who donated so we gave away a dozen hats, scarves and sets of gloves.
This year our goal is 100 of everything plus dog coats and some dog food, because some of the veterans who are homeless have dogs.
Yes I said veterans folks, it’s proven more than 68% of all homeless have not only served they’ve been in battle? So much for never leaving a man behind.

Well this year it’s December thirteenth from 8am to 11am, we are marshalling at the Bean coffee shop on the corner of 12th and Broadway. Thank you so much to the owner and staff for letting us keep our belongings there as we give them out.
I am knitting most of the scarves myself, so far I have knitted 60 and had another 5 donated.

Scarves- we need 35

Hats- we need 85

Gloves-we need 85

Coats- we need 95

Socks- we need 100
WE HAVE ONE WEEK LEFT FOLKS
You can email me us at ellarosa@aol.com to arrange to drop off or be at the bean coffee shop before 9am on Saturday the 13th of December to donate,

-4
but please people each year several dozen homeless freeze to death and to my animal lover friends please I need dog coats.

When I first came to New York and Ella and I had only been together a few months, we went to Manhattan it was January. We walked past a homeless person sleeping , a few minutes later We ordered bagels and coffee from Murray’s Ella ordered an extra and walked back two blocks and left the food and coffee beside the homeless man people with us condemned her for it I loved her for it ,how about you can you really walk past ?
How many old coats do you have? Has your dog passed away or gone and you have a cupboard full of harnesses and leashes and a winter coat? Why not pass them on?
thermaldogcoat_black_giantbreed

#keepthemwarmthiswinternyc2015

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

