Hey able bodied people our wheelchair and us in them are not you playthings and luggage racks!

You know the thing that amazes me folks? The complete arrogance of so many of the abelist’s community. In the past seven years since I have been fulltime in a wheelchair I have had groups grab me and start praying over me, I have had many run up and start pushing me, I get asked almost every day “where’s your nurse? Should you be out alone?”
I was in Macey’s one Christmas eve when suddenly an Asian family dumped there parcels on my lap while they waited for the their car to pull up to the curb. Hardly a day on the subway goes by that someone doesn’t attempt to sit on me put their shoe up on me to tie their laces or hook umbrellas on the back so they don’t have to hold them.
The worst I think is the man recently on the seven train who pushed onto a packed train behind me and started to climb over my chair with his crotch on my head and a foot on my lap, as he attempted to climb over me and when I complained he screamed at me to shut up?

I can tell you he wasn’t wearing under wear that’s how close his crutch was on my head.
Our chairs don’t come with coat racks, it’s not a shoe shine stand, and if I wanted a damn lap dance it wouldn’t be you mate!
What goes on the minds of these people? If I when I was able bodied decided to climb over someone’s head rubbing my genitals over their head how many sex offender charges would I get?
Can I just hang my umbrella off your earrings? Perhaps shove all my parcels in your arms even though I don’t know you? Of course not it is harassment at least assault at worst and the fact that people think it’s ok to do to the disabled shows just how little they really think of or about us.
We’re people just like you, we deserve respect just like you, were not a freak show we do not exist for you to pray your way to heaven and the handles are not there so you can work of some long held guilt by shoving me along at a running pace.
We the dis and otherwise abled community will make you a deal you don’t treat us like your personal luggage rack and we won’t run over your feet! Deal?

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

