My blog lost it’s way but I’m back

When I first started this blog there was only one rule, that rule was no one told me what I could and couldn’t write My blog was, as my wife told me my place to scream at the universe and not get arrested!
She told me “start a blog, or start a bail fund because your disability has you angry and when someone has the skills you have angry is dangerous”
So I started writing about what affected me, “me me me” till my greatest Buddhist teacher, my mentor my friend and my bar by which I measure all of life Colin Crosbie told me “If you’re going to throw a pity party at least get it catered”!
So I meditated and eventually had the epiphany that if I was to write I should write with the critique that was it happening to all disabled or were one section of our community being disenfranchised for no other reason than they were disabled?
From the first moment I changed my writing strategy my reader ship went from 20 a day to 20,000 an article, magazines and newspapers paid me for my work, other online publications quoted me as a source, I have been qouted in major newspapers in cities all over the world and recieved emails from frustrated parents asking for my help.Disabled access denied changed from a screaming room to place where we got shit done and we kicked ass and took names and it felt right.
In the last year My health has constantly suffered, and Ella and I broke our cardinal rule and we let others who don’t matter affect us. We let people who only had their own concerns at heart affect our bottom line, our dreams and our goals and posting became some days just about putting something with the words “DISABILITY” in it and for that folks I’m truly sorry you showed me you were pissed by your readership numbers.

This last three months were the worst, we relied on people that to whom honesty is only ever an optional last resort, we relied on them and we gave them our trust and our hearts and the controls of our dreams and our money in some cases our last cent. The end result was our hearts were broken and our trust was shitted on and our dreams were postponed again and again and our bank accounts because of this some months were swirling the drain.

Someone once asked me how did a topic qualify as being about the disabled? And my reply was “whenever any persons or groups actions so disrupt destroy or affect another’s right to and quality of life that person has been disabled and the longer it continues the more serious a disability,
After all when you think about it are not all bigotries and racisms and sexisms and homophobias disabilities in their worst forms?
When someone has their houses, their cars their belongings damaged defaced and destroyed just because they were born different or believe differently their ability to leave the house earn a living or simply live becomes so hard most days you ask why continue and many don’t then they are as disabled as a person who jumped into a pool wrong or crashed a car or was born with a disability and in some cases even more so.

So with this article I am relaunching my blog and reformatting it, this from now on is once again a place to scream but a place for all a place where I can scream about everything from my limb spasms to the stupidity of ben Carson and Donald trump because in reference to the latter my readers if they were elected one must ask how long before they turn the entire nation in a people severely disabled?
When I first started this blog I had a war cry

RESPECT OUR EXISTENCE OR EXPECT OUR RESISTANCE

I didn’t invent it, people have cried this in anger to the skies since the days of the plebian council revolting against the romans or the French peasantry storming the bastille to the students occupying wall st. The reason why we the dis and otherwise abled people claim this is, no matter what color you are, whom you love who you pray to and whom you vote for I guarantee one or more of us is amongst you and to quote that carpenter hippy from Nazareth “wherever three or more of you gather I too shall be there !
Anyway as we say down under OOROO FROM THE GURU

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

