I’M SO SICK AND TIRED OF DOGS IN STORES IT’S NOT LIKE THEY CAN REALLY DO ANYTHING?

Really wow, and I’m sick and tired of redneck know it all’s who think because they were too lazy to get off their ass and train their mutt and he shits all over the house, That my beautiful Zeus can’t be trained ,as he was to save my life every day.
To my Muslim friends I have no problem with your religion, but the belief you seem to hold that dogs are dirty and unclean so you don’t have to let them in your cab/deli/bodega/ well SUCK IT if you want to make money in the cab industry learn the law, if you want to be a retailer learn the law.
The Americans with disabilities act clearly states
NEITHER FEAR OF ALLERGY TO IS GROUNDS FOR BUSINESS OWNERS AND SERVICE PROVIDERS TO REFUSE ACCESS TO SERVICE ANIMALS AND THOSE THEY SERVE.
There is a website on the internet that I originally joined to be among other service animal users because the title leads you to believe they are in support of we who need service animals, but within days I started noting that every article was about how were leaches, were fakes, we are carrying filthy disease.

There is a lot of talk about which classification of service animal you have to allow entry to but here’s the catch
1/ there is no paperwork required to be carried by service animal users.
2/the only questions you’re allowed are-
A/is that a service dog
B/ what service does it provide

ada service dog law

People who claim “I don’t have to let you in my building has a grandfather clause pre ADA I don’t have to let you in”
THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS A “GRANDFATHER CLAUSE” IN ANY SECTION OF THE ADA
IMG_0426.JPG
Zeus my beautiful boy is trained to
A/ alert those around me when a seizure is imminent
B/ by use of a waist attached lead tow me in my wheelchair away from dangerous situations (curbs, fast traffic the edge of subway platforms busy doorways)
C/ stay with me in public and keep me safe until help arrives
D/ make sure during a seizure I do not hurt myself (during a seizure where my head was banging
against a brick wall he crawled between the wall and me putting his soft belly between my head and the wall)

E/assist in day to day life in a wheelchair, IE- when I am experiencing limb spasms he tows me with the waste leash like a sled dog
zeus the super dog

Now many people scream and carry on and yell when they see Zeus and other service dogs,
SERVICE DOGS ARE NOT ALLOWED TO BE VICOUS OR ATTACK TRAINED. That said a service dog is allowed to act in a defensive manner if the person they serve and or themselves are in physical danger from another human.
I have had to learn how to say “the dog is ok” in more than a dozen languages, to the dog a fearing screamers STOP BREATHE SEE THE LEASH IS LESS THAN 3 FT AND FIRMLY ATTACHED AND NOTICE
A/ He’s not barking growling or acting aggressive
B/ as per his training you don’t even exist unless he has to go around you he doesn’t care about you he doesn’t listen to you he really can’t understand the fuss basically unless you’re an epileptic seizure who the hell are you?

Don’t pass on your fear even if it is founded in your case down to your children, when you come to me it is a teaching moment, you can say to your children “yes mommas afraid but you don’t have to be, be cautious, always ask permission of the owner to approach the dog and always be kind” but no most of you grab the children running screaming either “GOU NO GOU NO GOU” or “NO PERO NO PERO NO PERO”

service dogs save lives
service dogs save lives

Finally to the owner of fluffy yap monsters HE IS A WORKING SERVICE DOG
A/HE DOES NOT WANT TO PLAY
B/HE IS ON A LEASH TRY IT WITH YOURS
C/AND NO ALTHOUGH I MAY THINK YOU’RE A PAIN IN THE ASS I HAVE NOTHING AGAINST YOUR DOG JUST KEEP IT AWAY
D/To the moron in union square NO THERE IS NO LAW THAT IF A DOG IS IN PUBLIC EVERYONE IS ALLOWED TO PAT HIM

Folks I am a citizen of this great nation, the constitution and declaration of independance the civil rights act and the AMERICAN WITH DISABILITIES ACT exist to protect my rights as they do yours. I need to work, I need to support my family and I have the right to life liberty and the pursuit of happiness without zeus I cannot achieve any of that so when you get in my way and scream “NO FUCKING SERVICE DOGS” you are denying me my constitutional rights and breaking federal law. Before you say “your service dog is interfering with mine” he’s not he is protected under law nothing is a right if it is against federal state and local law!
Others might not want the fuss and will roll quietly into the good night NOT I, so
lead me, teach me, or get the fuck out of my way becuase Zeus loves nothing more than the command “make a hole”.
10532385_10152300575253181_4425545153506741249_n

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

