Disabled new mexico Woman claims ‘bad attitude’ was reason she was denied disability Sun Van disabled transport service

alb1

Reposted from a story By: Chris Ramirez, KOB Eyewitness News 4
A woman who travels with a service dog and has had several leg surgeries has had a difficult time getting paratransit service from the city of Albuquerque, even though the city is federally mandated to help disabled people.
Cathryn Glenday has trouble getting around. Her service dog, Maya, carries what she needs. She claims she’s being denied the service because she was told she has a bad attitude.
She spent time in rehab after a bus hit her in Oregon.
“I’ve had 25 reconstructive surgeries on this leg and I’ve had two bypasses,” she said. “I’ve had three ankle fusions.”
She showed KOB a letter from a California doctor which state she was treated a decade ago for systemic lupus – a disease caused when the immune system attacks its own tissue.
Glenday says walking more than a quarter-mile causes pain in her legs, which is why she hoped to qualify for the city’s Sun Van – a door-to-door bus service for those with disabilities.
But when she applied, the city rejected her.
“I was told I was denied because I have a bad attitude and complained about being late,” she said.
She appealed the decision but lost.
“I’m not an obnoxious kind of person,” she said. “I’m a kind of person who prefers to go home and write letters to the Justice Department of ADA compliance.”
She did so – her letter to the Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division outlined several frustrations of hers.
“If someone has the documentation, if someone has everything in a row – they can have the worst attitude, they can have the best attitude. They’ll still get it.”
City Transit spokesperson Rick De Reyes adamantly disagreed that her attitude had any bearing on the deal. He said her documentation proving her disabilities wasn’t sufficient.
“She went before the Advisory Committee and had no documentation other than to say, ‘I suffer from this, I suffer from that,’” he said. “But nothing to say that it was so debilitating that she can’t get on a bus. No doctor has said she can’t use a fixed route bus.”
Glenday says she and Maya will continue fighting for their rights and she will continue to work on herself.
“I want to be active again. That’s my key to not being diabetic; that’s my key to managing my pain. It’s my key to managing stress – is to be active,” she said.
As an update, the city’s Transit Director agreed to give Glenday a second appeal. She’s working on getting that doctor’s not saying those specific lines that are required.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

