The problem with our legal system is- OR HOW TO GET EQUAL RIGHTS WITH WHEELS UNDER MY ASS

We have the civil rights act to supposedly give Americans of color a basis from which to legally protect themselves against the inane cruelty of racism, we have the ADA which in its inception is supposed to protect the dis and otherwise abled from discrimination and slowly state by state we are getting gay rights to protect the LGBTQ community in a similar fashion, that’s the concept anyway.
Have you ever tried to engage legal representation to protect yourself under any of these federal laws?
Here’s the problem with our legal system
On the weekend we were invited to stay at an aussie girlfriends beautiful home one block from the long island sound to keep the birthday celebrations going for she who must be obeyed, we stayed Sunday and on Monday after getting up at almost lunchtime our friend suggested coffee at a midtown coffee shop in the small town she lived in.
During the previous days get together we had met many of our girlfriends friends and a couple were at the coffee shop during the coffee we started talking about trans discrimination and disabled discrimination during coffee and one American friend got very excited and started dialing a lawyer friend telling me she would get me justice? So we let her call, I spoke to a very excitable lawyer who said someone else would call me today, we’ll see I thought.
Well will wonders ever cease, today a lawyer called me and the annoyance started when I wasn’t allowed to finish a sentence, then in the middle of calling me (yes he called me) he put me on hold for 5 minutes. Then he wanted to know what had happened to me, I tried to tell him and he kept asking “but did you lose any money because of it?” and he said he’d talk to his partners and get back to me? We’ll see.
Two hours later he called me back and asked “have you been discriminated against in the last year? So I reeled off half a dozen times and he wanted to know could I get to some obscure shopping mall in long Island I said no, he wanted to know did I have any notes so I told him about this blog and he started on again about fiscal loss? I had enough and told him it’s not about the money it’s about the dignity when you’re forced to crawl off a plane because they refuse you a wheelchair or you’re told you can’t go to the bathroom because the hostess refuses to push the aisle chair or when you’re in and ER you hear the head nurse at change over ask” WHO’SE CARING FOR THE FAG IN BED 6?”
It’s about teaching these assholes I live in the same country, I am protected by the same constitution and bill of rights and I pay taxes so I have the right to equality and I have the right to not be forced to leave my dignity in a bottom drawer when I leave home” and he said I was preaching to the choir, to which I replied “the trouble is this choir only sings when moneys involved.
So I copied and pasted 5 or 6 stories from my blog that I thought relevant and while he was still on the phone his only response to a story about me being forced to sign a contract that my service dog had to be locked in a cage while staying at the Borgata was not “that’s terrible”, or “how horrible” but his only response to 6 separate breeches of federal law where my rights were trampled was ‘YOU SPELLED COMPLIANT WRONG, “ “DO YOU HAVE SPELL CHECK?”
So you can document hospitals calling you a fag, a resident at st Barnabas so incompetent I awoke when back then I was a pre op transsexual being wheeled into surgery for an abortion because the ob-gyn resident telling me my stomach pain was an ectopic pregnancy even though my file was marked in red M-F PREOP TRANSSEXUAL. I documented many other cases of discrimination but still all he wanted to know between cutting me off every sentence was two things
1/ but did you lose money?
2/ do you have spell check?
You see my Sicilian legal friend, I don’t want you to be the “choir”, I don’t want you to correct my English composition, I don’t want you to forensically go through my finances what I want is simple
ENFORCE THE LAW, THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT, THE LAWS GUARANTEEING EQUAL RIGHTS WHETHER I LOST MONEY OR NOT BECAUSE YOU KNOW TO WE THE FEW, WE THE PEOPLE OUR DIGNITY IS WORTH FAR MORE, OUR RIGHT TO BE GREETED WITH NOTHING MORE THAN “WELCOME TO THE BORGATA HERE’S YOUR ROOM KEY” OR WELCOME TO ST BARNABAS WHAT SEEMS TO BE THE PROBLEM” OR JUST SIT THERE MIA WE’LL HAVE THE CHAIR TO GET YOU SAFELY OFF THE PLANE IN JUST A MOMENT.

You see my consiglieri friend to the we the people the American society was built around when our rights were guaranteed money isn’t everything it’s the life liberty and pursuit of happiness part we value.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

