Memories of a life as a Redwings lacrosse player

2317597_1_S

As many of my friends know my childhood was more like a nightmare than a dream, but the one saving grace was the sport lacrosse. My membership to East torrens Payneham lacrosse club in Adelaide South Australia saved my life, Characters with nick names like snake, Hagar, diffy, skates, pedro, clown, PJ and Beaver and jock bought me into the fold and taught me the greatest game on earth and made it clear with words and actions the club was a safe place.

Families like the Johnson’s the browns the scarvellis the Stevens the kestles and the vickerys were the backbone of the club they saved kids from the street like so many Fagan’s except we didn’t pick pockets we filled the pocket with lacrosse balls and ran the field proudly wearing the red white and blue. that was over 30 years ago and sadly snake has gone where great players go as have so many of my childhood heroes but Hagar is still around to tease us with his beautiful wife and daughter his greatest achievements and Charles manning an opposition player from another club is still a friend today. Not all of us made it but it wasn’t without a champion effort by  our lacrosse home.

On days like today when I’m home alone, I would rather be at Vic browns bar drinking with pj and reliving glory days from great games past, eating a pasty from Mrs Kestle while trying to beat tony Carbone on pacman.
“there’s a grand old flag , a high flying flag, the emblem for you and for me,

the emblem of the team we love the team of the red and the blue”
And it goes on like the great all great memories do. They say cops bleed blue and soldiers green where ever I am its always red white and blue

. ‪#‎lovemyredwings‬

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

