Service dogs save lives so before you unfund them ask yourself what do you do ?

1965022_10152014920008181_144513982_n
I know everyone thinks I have an ongoing love affair with my service dog zeus and well yes I do, But last night I asked Ella to make me an espresso and she was 10 feet away in the kitchen and that’s the last thing I remember until a while later ,in a fog I came to.

Ella tells me zeus ran to her barking then ran and jumped up on the bed and was licking my face and nudging me back to conciousness, and then turning and barking back to Ella he stayed with me until I came to.

In the past when my head was thrashing and hitting the brickwall zzeus without command crawled up and pushed his soft belly between my head and the wall.
10451685_263124310545769_1727962996979460258_n
Many people harass service dog trainers and handlers, especially republican politicians saying”it’s a dog what can it possibly do? let’s slash funding for service dogs for veterans” and Just this weekend we were forcibly thrown out of a takeaway restaurant with the owners screaming about “the dog”.
Well to the doubters “may you live in interesting times” while you doubt and spew uneducated tripe and try to cut funding, I will remain safe and helped by my saviour zeus, a trained belgian malinois service dog whom without my quality of life would be zero.
Without zeus my wife who already does so much to make my life livable would have to do so much more for me to be safe when out and about.

Service dogs give freedom to the severely disabled, they allow severely disabled and autistic children to attend school and they give our heroes, our returned wounded warriors the ability to once again live life.
2D274905921771-today-army-service-dog-140522-01.blocks_desktop_small
Zeus and dogs like him whether pure bred or rescues it matters not are beautiful loving highly intelligent sentient beings that the univers has given us to make our lives livable and thank buddha every day fo him in my life. So next tiem you see us on a train or in a restaurant or a shopping mall remember smile wave but don’t touch and tell your politicians get their collective heads out of their asses and fund service dogs for veterans.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

1 thought on “Service dogs save lives so before you unfund them ask yourself what do you do ?”

Leave a Reply

