Zeus the service dog is everything and more he proved himself in spades

This week we travelled from New York to Dallas, Dallas to Albuquerque in one day. We left New York 4.45 am and didn’t arrive on the land until almost 5pm New York time.
If we thought it was tough for us travelling as a disabled woman with my spouse changing planes and a 127 mile drive. Imagine what it was like for a 3 yr. old Belgian malinois?

Zeus performed to the highest standard that could ever be expected from a service animal, when our cab arrived at 4:45 am he towed my chair to the curb he went to the drop, then on command jumped up into the cab and sat on the floor while I loaded in.
He sat in the cab till the airport, he then got out and immediately sat while I got into the chair then he towed me into the airport and with a simple command of left or right he pulled me to the American airlines desk.
After he pulled right up to the American counter he again dropped. We were then directed to the TSA where he stood and allowed his harness to be searched by TSA without a whimper.

He then walked over to Ella and waited while my chair and I were searched then I hooked him back up to my waist leash and we travelled to departure gate.

zeusranch1
He walked onto the plane and sat on the floor in front of the seat, and stayed there for three hours until we arrived in Dallas.
zeusranch2

He waited while two hundred plus people crowded past me then with Ella he calmly walked of the plane and waited till they wheeled me off the plane to my personal chair and he then proceeded to pull me through Dallas airport going around people ,getting in and out of elevators and on and off trams to the next plane and perfectly went through the plane boarding process and sitting calmly on a plane again until we arrived in Albuquerque.

zeusranch3
He then jumped into the front seat of the waiting pickup and we went to a shopping center he pulled me around to shop, then he jumped back into the truck for a two and a half hour drive without a whimper.

The entire time we were in the candy kitchen on our land meeting all the people he did his job.
zeus the super dog
I had seizures he alerted I had PTSD he shook me out of it he was in his vest without removing it for 5 days.
zeus chilling
My life that I have happened because I met Ella and she loves me, my life as a wheelchair using woman with PTSD and Epilepsy happens and is safe every day because of Zeus he gives Ella piece of mind when were not together that I am safe he has saved my life from three knife wielding attackers, he has stopped muggings and attacks from mentally ill people and he most importantly saves me from myself every day.
Zeus to me is not a dog he is a brother, he is family, and he allows me to be me without judging.

This week he proved his place in my world in spades, I know one day he won’t be here but I also know that every day until then will be great because he is here.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

2 thoughts on “Zeus the service dog is everything and more he proved himself in spades”

  1. this is a comment related to your building’s failure to clean the ramp of snow. Please check out the Access Project of the Anti-Discrimination Center. The director spoke @ DIA yesterday & when I mentioned your issue he said they would deal with your problem.

Leave a Reply

