The special people you meet on a long flight

Yesterday morning we boarded a plane in Albuquerque new Mexico on our way home to New York but we had to change planes in Dallas, when we boarded they pushed my aisle chair down to row 7 we were on the two side of the aisle on the three side of the aisle was a native American mother and her tween daughter. People were staring at the girl because like me she was spasming with uncontrollable limb movements.
I spoke to the girl to let her know she had a friend and we were told by the mother they were on their way to st Jude’s hospital because the girl had an inoperable brain tumor affecting the part of her brain controlling limb movement and muscle control.
We helped each other handle the 90 minute flight and when it ended we transferred to New York they to Memphis, we don’t know if the girl’s prognosis was terminal but whatever it is I hope she knows joy and peace.
She is a beautiful soul and to her mother I hope she knows peace, because I know she will fight for her daughter with every breath in her body till the end. I wish them both every peace and a joyous life, because where ever they are their laughter and their smiles and the way they laughed with each other despite where they were going was beautiful and made my spasming and shaking and painful ride simply bearable and for that I will ever thank them.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

