Hey jet blue I’m already disabled don’t make my travel harder by being stupid

I just rang jet blue to book air travel with Zeus on board at my feet, I was on hold for 27 minutes I get a woman whom I ask so you are Americans with disabilities act compliant? There was dead silence, “do you know what the ADA IS?” silence so I ask “So you have never heard of the ADA? Silent.
I will be travelling with a service dog do know what that is? “So you want to travel with your pet doggie?” No ma’am I want to travel with a federally recognized service dog, “yes your pet doggie” so I asked if they had a department that handles disabled travel? Yes we have a department where people book travel its called reservations?
Can I speak to a supervisor? Yes it will be one minute so I was put on hold.

Now this person had a very strong Indian or Pakistani or Bangladeshi accent, so I assumed I was talking to an offshore phone center, so that one minute turned into 22 more. I finally got the supervisor I asked where in the world I was talking to she replied Boston. I asked her was the previous woman in Boston? She said yes? I don’t care where you’re from what color you are whom you love or worship but if your job requires you to speak English on the phone 8 hours a day shouldn’t you language skills be clearly understood?
So I relay the previous call to the supervisor she denies it all, I ask her does jet blue have a dedicated department to handle disabled travel such as Qantas has ?
She replied no, I asked do you have staff trained or a dedicated phone line. No to dedicated phone line but yes some supervisors are trained. Ok so were getting somewhere, So I asked her would it be a good idea if I booked the tickets online and as jet blue have no section online to register disabled travel I should ring back and ask for a trained supervisor and register my disability and service dog with them?
She replied” why would you do that? Why not just call our dedicated line that leads to our department that handles disabled travel?
BECAUSE YOU STUPID WOMAN YOU TOLD ME THE PHONE LINE AND DEDICATED DEPARTMENT DIDN’T EXIST AAAAAARRRRGGHHH
Can you see what we the disabled have to go through to just to go on holidays? Airlines employ anyone especially those who failed ESL and basic grammar, I mean where do they hire these people?
When I travel with Qantas, I call their special services department, I give them the dates, the destinations, the type of assistance required and that I’m travelling with a service animal they choose routes make sure the airports have skywalks not stairs they have someone to help with the luggage and boarding at each end.
Caveat Emptor, when it comes to travel cheap is never best, cheap means you have snookie and JWOW as your booking agent and the actors from snakes on a plane as your staff.
Pay a little extra, it’s worth not leaving your dignity in departures.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

