Girl with prosthetic foot files complaint after being removed from Six Flags ride

635597544218878994-Miranda-Cochran

ARLINGTON, Texas – Miranda Cochran is nothing short of an inspiration. Despite having a prosthetic left foot, the sophomore at Wakeland High School in Frisco is a talented dancer on the drill team.

“If they can see her not complain and work with what she has, then I think it kind of motivates them to get over it’s just a broken toe nail or a bruise,” said her coach, Christina Hinchey.

But Miranda is not allowed on many of the rides at Six Flags Over Texas. Last July, she bought a season pass at the Arlington theme park. She was sitting on the Texas Giant — ready to go — when park personnel removed her from the ride.

“I sat down and then I was buckling in and he was checking me. He was like, ‘Oh no. You can’t ride… you have to get off.’ And I was like, ‘Oh, why?’ And he was like, ‘Because you have a prosthetic leg,'” Miranda recalled.

No matter how well she dances, they told her it was against the posted rules to ride with a prosthetic leg.

“I felt kind of left out. And I was confused, too, because I’ve done it before… so I don’t know why it’s a big deal,” she said.

Six Flags explains that guests with certain disabilities are prohibited from riding certain rides for safety reasons.

It’s an issue that’s come up in other places. Including last year at Six Flags Fiesta Texas in San Antonio when a double-amputee Army veteran, Sgt. Stephen Jackel, was removed from a ride.

In a statement to WFAA News 8, Six Flags said:

“Our policies and procedures are customized by ride. They are reviewed and adjusted from time to time to ensure we continue to accommodate the needs of our guests while simultaneously maintaining a safe environment for all guests.”

Miranda knows there’s an easy way to get around the ban, but she’s not about taking the easy way out.

“I mean, it would be fine if I could wear pants and I could totally ride all the rides because they would have no idea, which is sad. But I don’t want to go to Six Flags with pants on. I don’t want to hide it,” she said.

Though the incident happened in July, the issue is coming up now because Miranda wrote a complaint letter to the manufacturer of the ride six weeks ago.

No one has responded.

The company, Bolliger and Mabillard, in based in Switzerland. WFAA 8 News reached out for a comment, but has not heard back ye

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

