Owning Handling and living Life with a service dog with less stress In the United states

I have had my Belgian Malinois service dog Zeus full time for 2 of his 3 years I have Epilepsy, Neuro spasticity spinal cord injuries PTSD and a basket full of other neurological disabilities.

10532385_10152300575253181_4425545153506741249_n
There is very little variance in service dog rules, most are purchased or supplied from government approved humane qualified service dog training groups, but the law also states you can train him yourself.

ada service dog law
Now the Americans with disabilities act is federal but there are states such as Louisiana who require self-trained dogs to pass state tests.
Now as for vests below is what Zeus wears

1557632_10152038625083181_1384372144_n
Now the ADA says he doesn’t have to wear one and if he does it doesn’t have to be marked. So yes you can stand your ground and tell me “you don’t know what you’re talking about I don’t need the words service dog on my vest” and you are right. But here’s where I am right Zeus has travelled on international flights at my feet in the cabin
zeus flying
He has stayed in 5 star hotels sleeping at my feet

1070070_10152033436978181_673437408_n
Sat next to me in the best restaurants in three cities in two countries,

march6
He even goes shopping everywhere from Macey’s to tiffany’s

IMG_0426.JPG
Because the limited knowledge of ADA requirements for service dogs of the average retail or hotel or airline worker is what they know about guide dogs for the blind so they think unless it has a vest and the vest looks official the dogs not?
Now Zeus is almost three years old in the early days I would stand my ground even call the cops so the cops could read the act to the offending employee,

https://disabledaccessdenied.wordpress.com/2013/09/16/bare-burger-on-1st-avenue-and-87th-manhattan-manager-screams-get-your-fucking-fake-dog-out-of-my-damn-restaurant-as-he-forcabley-removes-wheelchair-using-disabled-woman-and-her-serv/
But damn man it gets tiresome you have to ask yourself “do you want to be right or do you want to live a hassle free life where you and your service dog can come and go shop eat travel without being stopped and treated like a criminal every time you leave the house?

You need to learn to choose your fights, Zeus has been with me every day 24/7 going everywhere I go and because the staff can simply look and think “oh service dog” most of the time we get to enjoy a hassle free life.
So to a certain young girl on the Belgian malinois face book page, you can call me all the names you want, you can be a smart ass and I’ll see you out and about I’ll be the one sailing through the door smiling at security with Zeus beside me and you will be the one yelling arguing and standing your ground.
I’ve done both and I really enjoy my life with the latter, hopefully you will eventually learn as a disabled person you need to save your energy for the important things like incompetent doctors because if you do your service dog with the properly marked vest gets to sleep on your hospital bed with you just like Zeus does with me.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

