disabled not dead

Walls are white the sheets are flannel Zeus is on the bed my mind is in a tunnel
42 days 42 nights snows at the door ramps underneath freedom is gone till suns in the sky
Should life stop for 90 days? Should life stop because wheels can’t run?
Life got harder but it didn’t stop, wheels under my ass limbs are shaking fall to the floor remember nothing
There’s fog in my brain all from shaking, pity’s not needed crying doesn’t work
One push, one climb, one swim, I make it.
Disabled me? In your mind not my heart
I came out screaming I’ll go out winning
short stops along the way
pain visits but I’m here to stay

You can lead me follow me or stay out of my way
When My chairs at the bottom and I’m at the top no one guesses nobody can stop
We are here, we are different
We are sentient and we are blessed sometimes joyous sometimes depressed
You can watch me join me laugh or put me down but that makes me the winner and you the clown
Respect our existence or suffer our resistance
Were here for the long fight body to mind
we don’t win every round but were not going down.
Mia G

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

