Snow falls ramps buried and my house becomes a cell

Five weeks ago I became sick and had to stay in bed for a week, the weather was fine and it was a pain in the ass, I got well then four days later I had a relapse and then a different illness but that I could handle all that comes with life in a chair your ability to fight illness is lowered. What I can’t handle is incompetent uncaring abelists.
“Oh here she goes again everything is the abelist’s communities fault”! No not the whole community just idiot janitors and supers and property managers who get paid by my condo fees to do nothing more than make my ability to live comfortably and come and go with ease from the complex and yet I can’t?
No I’m not a snob whining about the help, were talking about a management whom awakened me to the sound of a jackhammer ripping up my wheelchair ramp early one morning because it “took away from the curb appeal and value of the building”.
It took two and a half years and the human rights commission intervening to get a ramp rebuilt, a not an up to code ramp but a non ADA compliant too steep ramp with the old rusted out hanging on by a screw handles still there kind of ramp.

Now we get the blizzard of 2015, The one that was to the blizzard world was what erectile dysfunction is to men, a blizzard that got hard but couldn’t keep it up.

ellawalking2
Even though they don’t make a blue pill for snow it still managed to spew 10 inches into the basement stairwell that is the base of my ramp, (it is the old pre-war coal Shute, and entrance that still bears the sign NUCLEAR FALLOUT SHELTER)

The ground around it was 10 inches buried under white, the super didn’t think clearing the ramp was important because as he has told me in the past”there’s only one of you you’re not a priority”
So by now I had already been housebound for over three weeks, and so had Zeus my service dog, we were both climbing the walls then it snows another 10 inches and what made it worse was the 40 mile an hour winds. So twice the depth of snow was blown into the well onto the already two feet that was there, so now the super shows up and makes a feeble attempt at shoveling, now it’s a wheelchair ramp but what does he do? He clears an 8 inch path so someone can walk up it! How do I know? Because the ramp is right below my window.

myramp

So I open the window and ask why only a walking path? He replies “That’s what I was told to do”?
So you see what I’m dealing with? They were sued by a federal authority to build it so what do they tell their trained fool of a super? Clear a wheelchair path? No, they tell him clear a walking space! They make Forrest Gump look like a rocket scientist.
Now it snowed another ten last night, and it will snow another 6 tomorrow and the super, well he keeps clearing a walking path? And it is meant to snow two more times before next Monday.

Now I have off-road wheels,
mias  offroad

my chair

Once I’m out of the building I can go anywhere, but that’s just it the tough part getting out of the building. The management office hasn’t answered or returned my call in two years so I’m not holding out hope.
See you in the spring time

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

2 thoughts on “Snow falls ramps buried and my house becomes a cell”

    1. here’s the problem the fire department cannot be directly contacted for such matters in new york you have to call 311, and 311 is the most incompetent system ever created. I rang them 2 years ago and they still haven’t replied

Leave a Reply

