“You’re in a wheelchair? I know how you feel I push a stroller”

A couple of years ago I got into a bitch fight with a certain lord mayor when he compared his wife’s difficulty pushing a stroller with the problems faced every day by people in a wheelchair, he stated it was just as hard for a woman to push a stroller around the city with broken pavement as it was for me to roll in my chair.

And two weeks ago I got the same reply from another reader last week when they stated that having a twisted ankle for a month made them know the same problems.
Look yes the woman has problems but when an elevator doesn’t work at a train station she can take the baby out of the stroller and carry it up the stairs, she can take baby out of the stroller at her car and put it into the car and fold up the stroller.
The guy with the twisted ankle gets over it.

When you’re in a wheelchair you push you, you can’t carry yourself up the stairs, when you get to your car you get in the seat you reach back you take the chair apart while reaching behind or beside you and no matter how hard it’s all on you.

I’m not writing this to get pity, I’m not writing this to put mothers down yes they have it tough but I’m sick of people like the woman on the phone with customer service yesterday who said” I know how it feels to be in a wheelchair, my cousin was in one”? “No lady you know your cousin” you have no damn idea what your cousin physically and mentally goes through every hour of every day.

The most insulting thing you can say is “oh you’re in a wheelchair, I know how you feel” not just for the disabled but any person with any illness or malady. The only person who knows is the person living with it.
Stop assuming you know what it’s like, if you’re a true friend just be there for the disabled, just listen just treat us like anyone else we don’t want to be treated differently just equally.

Today in the news a university in North Carolina is suing for the right to be ADA exempt, their argument is if we can’t get into buildings, or classrooms we shouldn’t come if we can’t fit into the toilets we shouldn’t attend?

What has happened to us as a people? The same cretins saying it’s all us, it’s all our fault call themselves Christians?
If you’re a bonafide bible thumper maybe this is familiar
“All are made perfect in god’s image”
“He who refuses but one of mine refuses me”

I didn’t make them up they’re straight out of the same book of fables you claim to live by, so If you really do walk the walk don’t just talk the talk.
It’s amazing I went to a cheap second rate Chinese takeaway in the west village last year and they had a mezzanine so they installed a wheelchair lift ,yet the Australian American association hired a multimillion dollar boat for a Christmas cruise around Manhattan and I was told the only way they could have me on was if I bought strong people with me to lift me from deck to deck the boat cost thousands to hire, my bill at the Chinese was $15 for three courses so it’s not the money it’s the morals.

Which do you value more your bank account or the wellbeing of those who enter your world every day?

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

