Macy’s might throw a good parade but they crap on the disabled and the ADA!

Despite all my best instincts  Ella talked me into rolling to Macey’s on Roosevelt st flushing  I knew it was a bad idea the universe knew it was a bad idea the bus driver who dropped off all the stupid people knew it was a bad, but we went anyway?

As we rolled down Roosevelt st  Ella reminded me  I promised  to knit a new king-size quilt so we stopped at the  wool shop so we did the door was  so narrow no chair or fat person could enter so on the sidewalk Zeus and I waited, OUR FIRST MISTAKE. Out of nowhere every non English speaking family in the borough of queens descended on 3ft of side walk no one had ever heard the words “excuse me” or “sorry” 3 people tried to step over me one used her stroller as a battering ram and attempted to forcibly push me out of the way and they were the nice ones!

We got the wool and got the hell out of there, well at least another six storefronts to the Macey’s entrance, well it was either that or the gate to the zoo? As we rolled into Macey’s entrance  within the first two minutes  a dozen shoppers with all the standard equipment you know ‘two eyes, two ears ,one mouth and yet walk into me walk over me  one woman even sat on my lap and tried to tell me “it’s a chair with wheels why can’t I sit on you?”

I pushed myself to the side and was sitting there when a Macey’s employee pushing a flat bed with boxes on it decided to take a leaf from the lady by the wools stores play book and started to push against my chair frame pushing harder till I was pushed sideways and he could get through? All of this abuse happened because Macey’s decided apart from the main aisle down the middle of the floor not one side aisle was ADA compliant, not one aisle had enough clear floor space for someone to walk down let alone roll through?

maceys1

We asked a staff member for a manager she said “I’m busy” and walked away suddenly another  person swinging a box with a steel blender inside swung it straight at my head  it connected right in front of a staff member who looked laughed and walked away?

We asked for another manager this one called from phone suddenly a woman in a business suit and a cute guy in Armani appeared and identified themselves as management. I explained the situation the woman immediately went into “it’s not our fault customers messed up the aisles” yes as the pics showed customers found clothes racks ,bathrobes color coordinated them size referenced them and placed them in the aisle?

maceys2

Then we showed them the kitchenware again she claimed customers stacked kitchen aid blenders in a pyramid? Again with the excuses the only choice was intelligence and compassion and the only person there who could even spell it was the Armani wearer he saw what we pointed at, he listened he understood and agreed and even while we were talking two customers hit me in the head and the wheels the woman went to excuse land the male to checking to see if I’m ok? As we rolled away the noise of her excuses could be heard above the din of the east Asian melee she was a wind up doll with batteries that never run out the only thing that obviously had run out years before was any chance of intelligent compassionate understanding in the guise of Macey’s staff. I understand that Macey’s can’t be responsible for every fool in their store but when incidents happen within inches of staff and they don’t even ask if you’re ok then they are at fault and there was never a chance to get out of the crowd because when it came to clear safe aisles they wiped their corporate asses with compliance>

If you have wheels under your ass or love someone who does let Macey’s know our bodies, our chairs and most importantly our rights and dignity are not on sale black Friday or not we are protected it’s called the AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT.

If they don’t listen then speak with your wallets, we are people not fodder respect us, respect our rights or close your damn doors.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

