Sorry I didn’t see you, sorry I didn’t see you.sorry I kicked your wheelchair I didn’t see you!

Soccer balls are round and black and white, american footballs are pointy  and wheelchairs are made of steel and upholstery but hey I can see how a supposed non disabled person with 20/20 vision could mistake them? not

I used to think that only stupid people on the subway kicked my chair because they didn’t give a fuck but then I started travelling and staying 5 star  and still the assaults on my chair my wheels and worst of all my service dog got even worse.

The Waldorf Astoria on christmas morning was equally dangerous and it wasnt the busboy but the actual restaurant  manager kicked my service dog and trod on his head and blamed the dog? I called his boss the general manager of the hotel and the response was “he can’t be expected to look down”?
Really so if it wasn’t  my dog it would have  been a toddler or someones bags or coats and then they slip over and the customer wears a meal on their expensive clothing?
1070070_10152033436978181_673437408_n

The W hotel is my go to place in Union square, don’t get me wrong that hotel rocks but 48 hours ago Ella and I dropped in for a quick dinner and my chair was kicked so hard I was lifted off my wheels and we had to move zeus twice to keep him safe?

ACCESSIBILITY folks doesnt mean I can roll in the door on a flat surface ,it means that a person in a wheelchair with a service dog can roll in stay, eat make use of your services with safety and comfort equal to that of an abel bodied person without being assaulted and sorry there is no such place in north America. what a sad indictment  that we pay the same, yet we get no guarantee of mere safety let alone quality in any other part of the experience.

STOP THE EXCUSES! don’t tell me “we don’t normally have wheelchairs and dogs to step around it’s not our fault” I am 6ft 4 inches when I used to be  able to stand up and on my bad days I weigh 280 and with my chair thats over three hundred pounds  and in my chair I take up 6sq ft of space.
 So what you’re really saying is “my staff are too stupid and blind to not be able to walk around something the size of a table for four and as tall as an armoire?”

If you and your staff think that is accessibility, if you think kicking and stomping and assaulting something that by its very existence is already seriously injured and in your care for a few hours is ok and a bullshit excuse will cover your ass you have no place in the job you hold you have no place anywhere where the care and comfort of anything with a heart beat is required.

There is an old aussie saying “I’m not backward in coming forward” what that means  is I will not go quietly into the goodnight If I see bullshit I call it, if I see incompetence I call it. If you don’t like it somewhere a mcdonalds drivethrough is missing it’s idiot, so reppeat after me “DO YOU WANT FRIES WITH THAT?”

Whether I am paying $2,000 a night at the plaza or eating pizza in the W, I deserve safe courteous caring smiling service and not excuses and never abuse.

Remember now soccer ball is round Mia is large?  there is an obvious difference one you’re allowed to kick the other is wrong, it’s not rocket science.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

