The words read around the world

When I first started my blog in January 2011 my goal was a place for me to kvetch,out of my complaining came The realization if it affected me it was affecting others. Firstly I wanted to help my community, my town, my country, but no sooner had I reached that goal than a English magazine for the disabled asked me to write for them.
From 500 readers the first month to a readership of over 280,000 now it continues to amaze.
But mia you say only New Yorkers read it right? Hell no,today 40 readers from the people’s republic of Laos and several hundred from India, Bhutan, Nepal,Bangladesh and even obscure parts of the former USSR such as khamilkaya and Georgia ?
On a daily basis over 150 different countries and as many languages with English speaking countries being the minority is the average.
When I first wrote this blog I asked a revered member of the Buddhist community for his opinion, he replied ” if you must throw a pity party get the damn thing catered” I thought how un-Buddhist Of him,but after my ego healed he reminded me of a prayer we Buddhists say when
We eat
” may this food not benefit I but give me the energy to help all other sentient beings first and through helping them first only then may I receive benefit”

The essence of that prayer is the essence of my blog,” only through being the vehicle for all others to benefit first shall I truly myself live a better more fulfilling life. To those 150 countries thank you and blessed be!

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

