Songs in the key of life

Stevie wonder wrote an amazing song with the title above, when it came out I was too young to get anything but the beat. As I grew I heard at many different stages that we all have a song that describes our life, or at least where along the mortal coil we are right now.
I am watching a new TV show called stalker, the story is about a couple who had a song, it was a Roberta flack tune, and it occurred to me that I have a song in-fact I have had many songs and at the times in my life I heard them they were everything, they were the beat of my drum.
When I was being molested as a young child my brothers music was the beat of my life it was all dark, it was Alice cooper, it was Neil young, the sex pistols, tom Waites but it cried out.
I left home and worked in restaurants and put up a front that nothing ever was wrong or had ever been wrong, it was Billy idol, Sade, grace jones it was all avant garde it played a roll but at home it was still Alice cooper mainly a song called Steven.
I got into security work and there were many songs but very few of them spoke to me but I was being paid to do what was necessary to keep people safe so a lot of things were worked out in my head and somebody else paid me to do it. The commodores night shift used to be the start of my night bouncing was low brow but high aggression, body guard work was filthy money and the bonus for me it gave me a target usually one person or group who were the targets, the reason we were needed and it was a very high tension situation but when it was over at that time it was better than any drug.
I came out and I thought when in Rome, so I dumbed down and went with the sheep it wasn’t music it was noise it was emotional white noise as long as it played the real noise couldn’t be heard.
I went through my drug days and there could have been Beethoven resurrected playing his latest right in front of me and I would never had heard a thing and that’s the problem we can never truly deal with the noise in our heads until the noise stops until we stop playing the music the white noise we will never truly hear what our souls are saying what they are telling us is necessary to survive.
Ask most musicians, they write from pain, ask comedians it comes from broken hearts and broken souls, that’s why they are loud because the louder the noise the quitter that voice is the one telling you it will be all right. You will survive, you hurt like hell and only want to scream right now, so SCREAM and keep screaming till you don’t need to scream anymore.
It will feel so damn good until it doesn’t, then you will finally hear the music you need to hear and that music will save your life because it will be the beat of the life you deserve, the beat of your own strength, your own truth and you finally will everything you need to climb out of the darkness and realize it really does get better and you are the one who can make it happen the only one.
Find someone to guide you through, find someone you trust and together you will survive.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

