Attention store owners your fear of dogs is legally not an allowed reason to forbid entry to service animal

Attention store owners your fear of dogs is legally not an allowed reason to forbid entry to service animal
Yesterday I went into a store and as I entered the woman screamed “get out I’m afraid of dogs” and she screamed for five minutes that she owned the damn store and she could throw out anyone she damn well pleased.
Sorry folks the ADA actually covers it clearly

Neither fear or allergy to an animal is legal reason to forbid entry to a service animal to your place of business

Secondly people need to learn that service animals are allowed to defend their handlers only in extreme cases where they are threatened, apart from that they are 100% friendly.
I have had Zeus three years almost, and he has only gotten aggressive with someone wielding a knife threatening to stab me and that was last week .
He is always attached to a waist leash, which is made of seatbelt webbing and is double leashed and attached by a carbineer which can support 4,000 lbs of pressure. The leash is only 3 ft. long and is attached to me, so people on subways and in shopping malls stop screaming he is not going to eat you.
Zeus is trained to a command “take me on” when the subway doors open he pulls me and my wheelchair onto the train over the height difference between the platform and the train he then turns and backs up to my chair and drops and he does not move again until commanded. So your fear that he is about to break loose and eat you like yum cha is unfounded,actually once he decides you’re ok ignores you, I am his only concern.
In short unless you’re an epileptic seizure you’re not even on his radar.
Yes I know this will fall on deaf ears, but not as deaf as mine become when the Chinese in my neighborhood yelling “NO GUO NO GUO” It makes me angry, I know it shouldn’t but I know what an amazing animal my boy is, and the thought you so horribly misjudged him really pisses me off.
10451685_263124310545769_1727962996979460258_n
Support service dogs wherever you can the republicans are defunding them whenever they can. Pets for patriots, wounded warrior project and service dogs of america to name just a few, because I can tell you if the animals provided by those groups help the people they live with one percent of the amount Zeus helps me they are better than any medical procedure or drug on earth.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

