Today Zeus literally saved my life

Today I had a great day right up to 3pm I had breakfast at the bean and then did some shopping, at 1.45 I met Ella for lunch at the amazing W hotel union square and after she left I had a couple of beers then shopped in the farmers market and bumped into my Krishna friends and hung out a while then I had to pee so I asked them to look after my bag and rolled to the public toilet.
I had to roll through a very large group of homeless people in the middle of union square to get to the public toilet diagonally across the corner for the W hotel, when we were halfway through the park Zeus started whimpering and looking over his shoulder but I paid no attention, after all I have spent two days a week in the square every week for over a year sometimes even doing outreach like last Christmas when Ella and I gave out warm clothing to them.
When I got to the toilet I had to wait a couple of minutes for the disabled accessible stall, then the door opened and a well-dressed this built teen came out looked at me and Zeus and ran out I thought nothing of it.
As I sat with my leggings and underwear round my ankles out of my wheelchair with Zeus on the floor hidden by my bunched clothing, my legs between me and the wall out of sight suddenly the teen who had come out of the stall before I went in shimmied under the door then opened it and jumped out. Suddenly there was an older African American women as anorexic as the teen with matted dreads, and a very fat very large built black possibly dark skin Latino woman was pushing through.
The large woman shoved a 6 inch blade like a hunting knife at my exposed genitals and screamed “your money or I dig a hole bitch” the older one said “teach her a lesson cut her” I screamed what the fuck ?” then screamed again but before I could say anything intelligent Zeus flew the knife holder latching hard onto her inner thigh and shaking his head as he growled. The attacker jumped back screaming “the fucking dog got me ,got me cooch” and fell out of the stall dropping the knife, the older one picked it up and yelled for the young one she was out of sight but I heard her yell “fuck no the dogs crazy” The fat one scrambled backwards on the floor got up turned and ran, the old one waved the knife screeching don’t fucking move and ran.
I was there in a public toilet half-dressed, out of my chair half fallen off the commode stunned and wondering what the fuck just happenned Zeus suddenly moved backwards till he felt himself touch my leg and stood growling, I hugged him sobbing trying to dress before they maybe came back. They never did come back they had disappeared into the throng that was haloween manhattan.
We raced back to the Krishna’s and I broke down the moment I was asked what was wrong, there were no cops there never are and if they were they are afraid of the homeless in the park so they never do a damn thing.
I rang Ella crying, I sat with Zeus with my Krishna friends for the rest of the day, the homeless who are my friends worked out they weren’t park regulars they were drift-INS.
With all my training I got attacked, neither judo nor karate has a kata for on the commode. Service dogs are not meant to attack or be vicious and Zeus isn’t vicious but I found out today how much he loves his mom he faced a knife and won. I love my boy he really is my hero.
zeus4

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

3 thoughts on “Today Zeus literally saved my life”

  1. My dear friend Mia, I am so very glad you are okay, this world would never be the same without you. I am so very very proud of Zeus, give him an extra cuddle and a treat from me. What a terrible ordeal…I can empathize with you Mia, it happened to me in the public toilets near BigW at Pt Lincoln. Sitting in the stall, shorts on the ground, door gets kicked in (Tunarama time, lots of tourists) but I was able to crack him one. It leaves you feeling so vulnerable…and I was shaking for days. Tonight do something nice for yourself, Zeus and Ella…create a pleasant memory so that when you are reminded about it you finish off with it.

Leave a Reply

