Why do doctors secretaries think they have to lie?

When I call doctors, something I have to do almost weekly because of my disabilities why is it they think it’s ok to lie? Why can’t they just answer questions make appointments and be nice?
Instead the average secretary thinks she is Cerberus the three headed dog guarding the gates of hell!

I have very few requirements
1/ no hospitals, If I am paying the money to see the best in their field and believe me we pay through the nose for medical insurance then co-pays then MRI’S and CT scans and meds If I hire a rolls Royce mechanic I don’t want to go to Walmart’s auto shop to see him. The average New York hospital makes one feel like sheep in a pen waiting to be slaughtered.
2/ As a survivor of serious decade long molestation I do not get naked in front of men, so I make appointments with women
3/ are they wheelchair accessible? That doesn’t mean three muscle bound men in orderly uniforms will lift me like so much luggage up two flights of stairs. It means I can roll straight in.
4/ service dogs allowed, we know under the law they are but it seems the richer someone is the more they try to be above the law.
So an appointment is made for a urologist  and all the above questions are asked yet when we call to confirm before this Friday, the answering machine says “welcome to Insert name of hospital” urology department.

So the woman who answered the phone and said they were not in a hospital has obviously noticed the big four block square complex she works in!.
So many times I ring for an appointment with a woman, I am assured it’s a woman and get there to be told ”oh no she left the practice last year you’re seeing a man” When you were raped every day for 10 years by a male the last thing you choose of your own free will is to be out of your wheelchair on a table like a slab of meat with some strange male saying “relax this will only hurt a little” manhandling your most private parts.
Why is it that the medical industry, an industry that not one single person on earth is exempt from contact with, acts so elitist that they consider themselves above common moral decency.
Recently we made an appointment with a doctor on 95th st, I had to push my wheelchair 100 blocks to get there and when I get there I was told I had to wait 2-3 hours but that was normal the doctors assistant said she runs three hours late every day!
So doctors treating someone for a possible tumor that could be benign or could be malignant, but unless I put up with the stupidity of a doctor who deals with these issues and still thinks it’s ok to daily run 3 hours late  I get no answers. They have become the accepted norm because of secretaries who when asked promote them as god’s gift to the Hippocratic oath, when 90% of them would not be worthy of sitting at the great man’s feet.

If you want to act like Cerberus go to hell, If you want to work in the healing arts remember the oath your boss took starts with first do no harm you would be well served practice that oath yourself.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

