No Coffee shop restaurant union sq. Manhattan manager an Abel bodied person being kicked in a crowd and a wheelchair user being knocked around are not the same.

For the last three and a half years I have told readers on this blog and all my social media how great the coffee shop restaurant union square Manhattan was and how great Carlos the manager was, that stops now. They are bigoted uninformed and will always take the word of the trendy rich customer over the one with wheels under their asses. Let me explain-
Yesterday after a botched doctor’s appointment where I had to roll 97blocks(8 miles) one-way to get there I decided I needed a friendly face so I rolled into the coffee shop chatted with Carlos ordered lunch and a beer so far so good.
The bar at the coffee shop is wave shaped (imagine a snake) it is a series of horseshoe shapes connected that jut out into the room so I always choose the inside of the shape so Zeus won’t be trod on nor my chair kicked.
coffee-shop
About a half hour after I sat down and settled zeus on the floor
1620770_10152341410018181_8355568990483199197_n
Three white gentlemen and a African American gentleman all expensively dressed sat behind Zeus and I, and from the moment they sat down Comments about “fatfuck in a wheelchair” and “cow tipping”started almost immediately. Every time they stood up or went to the bathroom and some of it I think was for no other purpose than to kick my chair I was repeatedly kicked without apology. Sometimes tthe kick was so violent my wheels lifted off the ground.
In the past I have said something and was told “get over it this is New York” so I have learned to sit and take it for the most part.
Yesterday I had taken the precaution of being out of the walk way there was no need for me to “get over it” So finally after hearing comments of “points” and “That’s worth a drink” every time I was knocked I finally twisted in my chair when kicked and said to the well-dressed African American “really dude is kicking me necessary? No apology? what am I a drinking game?” he stopped and said laughingly “you’re right I am sorry, sorry your such a fat fuck in a chair” and laughed.
I turned my chair back and someone behind me swiped at my head I moved my head to the side it happened again and I blocked the arm I turned and with the superior position told the asshole what kind of disgusting pig finds the abuse of the disabled a game he tried to attack me again and Zeus growled suddenly security was all over us.
The manager who I thought was a friend and some woman whose only job was to scream and abuse me started in on me, I told them what had been happening, their words were “everyone gets knocked all the time get over it”? Sound familiar? I tried to talk to Carlos but she kept screaming over me, I eventually at my wits end told her to shut up and I said to Carlos that under the Americans with disabilities act my chair was my body an attack on a wheelies chair with them in it if deliberate is deemed assault. The loudmouth woman screamed “SHOW ME THIS ADA? I’VE NEVER HEARD OF IT”
As I was being screamed out and told I was wrong, the people talking to me were signaling the men’s bill be comped and another round on the house.
I was told I have no rights to speak to another customer even if they’re abusing me, even if they’re assaulting me, even if they have made both of the above a drinking game based on their perverse version of cow tipping?
Coffee shop I now see is everything people told me it was and I was too naïve to see, nothing more than a gathering place for the immensely emaciated the overly inflated egos of the fashion industry and glitterati staffed for the most part by failed models who all look like their two fingers away from their next bulimic episode.
Well folks wheels under our asses does not mean we deserve less treatment than the latest top model, yes Zeus is cute and you all loved to coo over him but I am at the other end of the leash and I am actually the one with the money who ordered the food.
So folks the coffee shop restaurant is neither a good coffee shop or restaurant it more resembles a waiting room for group therapy for those with eating disorders and a waiting room for wannabe models. So if your waist is bigger than size zero and you actually want to feel good about yourself I suggest the restaurant at the W hotel just across the square, they care for everybody and they discriminate against nobody and people are allowed to speak to other people and yes even say “please don’t kick my chair” and the only drinking games are between the sports team staying in-house and it’s about football not the disabled. Tell the musclebound doorman at the main entrance Mia and Zeus sent you.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

