Yesterday a six year old called Ethan showed the Adults what respect for the disabled looks like.

Yesterday was a sad day in our family, it is each year it’s the anniversary of my mother-in-law’s death and this year it was one week out from my own moms death! Tough day.
Ella My other more beautiful half is one of only two children in her family both girls, so we arranged to meet in kissena park and she bought her middle son Ethan.
My sister-in-law has a 19 year old serving in the US marines currently deployed and then a 13 year gap and a 6 year old and then a younger one.
Ethan is a very quietly spoken but hyper active afraid of nothing kind of child, as we spoke about momma he climbed the jungle gym but not like other kids on the inside he climbed the outer skeleton making all who watched cringe he would simply laugh nothing scared him. After a half hour of play we started to roll, Ethan walked beside my chair if someone walked into me or cut me off or walked into Zeus my service dog he would quietly admonish them for rudeness and uncaring than ask me if I was ok remember he’s 6.

Diana and Ethan live about 3 miles from us, about 2 from the park we should have headed south to their north but we decided to go to 7-11 for a juice with them. We walked about half a mile and when we entered the 7-11, the door said wheelchair accessible as I tried to roll with the little man I kept hitting aisles not wide enough so when I pointed it out to the management they didn’t care.
I felt a touch on my arm “aunty Mia If you want something from those aisles I’ll get it for you”! I almost cried, six grown ass adults in the room, two of them own the store and it’s the six year old who steps up.
As we were leaving he turned to them and us and said “It’s not very nice of you to not make your store ok for wheelchairs it’s rude, and he walked beside my chair to the curb and then he said “you couldn’t get a slurpee aunty the aisle was blocked ,mine’s purple I’ll share” again I held back tears even a six year old knew I loved purple and as he and his mom headed for the bus home I told him what a delightful young man he was and how his marine brother would be proud and he replied “my brother is a hero he is fighting for his country”! As a proud member of a marine family I agreed with the little man, but as a disabled woman who lives with bigotry and a city wide “we don’t give a shit attitude” most days, right there that 60lb little man was my hero and my hope for the next generation.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

