Permanantly Disabled In a wheelchair? just how safe do you think you are compared to the facts?

Hi folks This is Mia, below is a post from a facebook friend will Matay. Now the subject is his application for a carry conceal permit denied, I am not asking your opinion on gun ownership this is aboutt he bullshit response from the police department.
The facts that they state that he didn’t prove his case that as a disabled person he is danger, and also unable to competently defend his family simply don’t gell with the research.
I myself have been mugged twice, assaulted twice and I am a life long devotee to the fighting arts. I won’t back down if attacked, but my beautiful wife has never once in her life ever fought anyone? yep she’s the one.
If someone invades my home I will fight what is left after zeus has chewed them to hell, he has already proven his worth.

I am not writing for or against gun ownership, I am writing because in the letter below the government we are meant to trust has no clue when it comes to the vulnerbility of the dis and otherwise community.
If we don’t confront them we as a people will become nothing more than victims on wheels, whether it’s a gun permit denied or simply the stupidity of the police when you try to explain your fears. It must stop, we are Americans we have the same guaranteed rights under the constitution as everyone else.
Today is the time to show your elected officials the stats on attacks on our community, and not just ask what they intend to do but tell them what must be done if they want to keep their jobs.

I recently applied for a CCW license; if you do not know what CCW means then you should just stop reading and go on to the funny baby laughing video instead of reading on.below is the response I recieved followed by my comments and research.
1780142_10202637046312948_8647106422000489087_o

In order for anyone to make a change, a real change, in policy; our Senators and Congressman (and women) must have numbers to back up the need for a change. Meaning how many people feel the need for the change.

I need to show “persons with a disability” do not feel “safe” because of their disability. I certainly do not feel safe in my wheelchair. How the hell am I going to protect my family and myself? How? Anyone?
Fight my way out–not. Roll away, while my family runs–not. So what am I able to do.

I recently posted a simple three question survey I was taking for the very purpose of trying to make a change in policy; I had a mere 15 responses. Are you kidding me. With the power of a simple math calculation of my so called 345 Friends and their friends; I get tens of thousands potential people whom could have simple answered? Nope.

As off now; I have to hope the police can protect me. You see according to them, the police department, stated: “Our requirements for a weapon permit are very stringent and require convincing evidence of a clear and present danger to the life of the applicant, which cannot be adequately dealt with by law enforcement or avoided by alternative measures.”

So, according to the police; when seconds count, I have to wait minutes for them to come to the rescue; because, they can and are able to save me and my family.

However, according to their very own Department of Justice and the Bureau of Justice’s own statistics prove I will most likely will be a victim before the police ever arrive.

http://www.bjs.gov/index.cfm?ty=pbdetail&iid=4884
:
Crime Against Persons With Disabilities, 2009–2012 – Statistical Tables
Erika Harrell, Ph.D.

February 25, 2014 NCJ 244525

Presents estimates of nonfatal violent victimization (rape, sexual assault, robbery, aggravated and simple assault) against persons age 12 or older with disabilities from 2009 to 2012. Findings are based on the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS). The report compares the victimization of persons with and without disabilities living in noninstitutionalized households, including distributions by age, race, sex, victims’ types of disabilities, and other victim characteristics. Data from the U.S. Census Bureau’s American Community Survey (ACS) and the 2000 U.S. Standard Population were used to estimate age-adjusted victimization rates.

Highlights:

Persons age 12 or older who had disabilities experienced 1.3 million nonfatal violent crimes in 2012.
In 2012, the age-adjusted rate of violent victimization for persons with disabilities (60 per 1,000 persons with disabilities) was nearly three times the rate among persons without disabilities (22 per 1,000 persons without disabilities).
In 2012, the age-adjusted rate of violent victimization was higher for persons with disabilities than for those without disabilities for both males and females.
For each racial group measured, persons with disabilities had higher age-adjusted violent victimization rates than persons without disabilities in 2012.
In 2012, 52% of nonfatal violent crime against persons with disabilities involved victims who had multiple disability types.

SO, if you are disabled and you still feel that you can seriously protect yourself and your families–you are dreaming. Not according to me; according to the DOJ; they just don’t put it plain text like me.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

