What is happening to our medical practitioners are they phoning it in?

When I grew up in Australia my doctor or as we call them gap (internist) would not prescribe anything that contraindicated with any other drug you were on, and if he had you on a drug and you presented with a side effect he knew that the drug caused it and either lowered your dose or took you off it all together!
Now fast forward to 2014 New York United states In just this one year I had a doctor who was told at my first visit that I was on 800mg of magnesium a day for an illness I live with suddenly start order colonoscopies , stool samples ,sonograms and cat scans because I presented with diahorea, the problem is this she is a gastroenterologist, one of the best in the city and she didn’t know that magnesium is a pill prescribed to induce bowel movements so all she should have said was “oh that’s a side effect of the magnesium?
Instead she ordered tens of thousands of dollars’ worth, of unnecessary tests did she know or is she incompetent. The degree to which she didn’t know what a third year nursing student knew yet the bowel is her specialty blows my mind?
Secondly as my friends know back in June I fell 35 feet from a rock wall while rock climbing banging my leg a dozen times on the way down causing a sub cutaneous hematoma three and half centimeters by two centimeters it was painful tears to the eyes painful and the doctor knew I was a lifelong epileptic but she prescribed a narcotic that has big red letters NOT TO BE PRESCRIBED TO THOSE ON ANTICONVULSANTS because it cancels out the effect of the anti-convulsant so as I had a week of seizures until another doctor said “WHAT INCOMPETENT FOOL GAVE An EPILEPTIC THAT DRUG?”
I stopped the painkiller my leg throbbed but the seizures stopped, again was she incompetent? (I think so I have proof) or was she phoning it in?
To the doctor who gave me the painkillers she was definitely incompetent, she was the surgical resident of New York Presbyterian of Queens so one would think she could tell a surgical scar from a cat scratch right? One would think. Well as she is inspecting my right leg she sees a cat scratch from the day before caused by my Siamese khesahn that didn’t break the surface and says”oh you had arterial surgery in the last few days?” I was so shocked I asked for a new doctor and was threatened with security because they thought mistaking a surface cat scratch with major surgery to the main artery in your leg to be acceptable.
I can go on for days about doctors who phone it in, surgeons who tell a pre surgical transsexual (yes pre surgical) that her severe abdominal pain is an ectopic pregnancy? I SWEAR IT’S TRUE. I know they’re good doctors around a dear friend is one of them, But when you come in with a file , a list of every medication you’re on , a list of every diagnosis you live with and they still fuck it up what are they doing?
Most doctors are over worked in an er and they spend a long time getting a patients history so why when we help out by handing it to them is it ignored? Were already disabled we don’t need dead.
New York it seems either has great equipment but the doctors suck or the nursing staff when asked whom they are treating will reply out loud “the faggot in bed six” is it too much to ask for a doctor that listens a nurse that is respectful and prescriptions that don’t kill you all in the one hospital?
All of the above would be wonderful but I can tell you as a disabled gay women who has lived in nyc since 1998 and is required to attend major hospitals multiple times every year it does not exist, pull your head out of your collective asses medical community if you can’t do the job you don’t get to charge and if you do hell will have hypothermia before this gal pays.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

