You say I attract trouble, I say what happened that so many think the disabled are fair game?

Noone who knows me will argue with the next statement, “I am a hot head I can’t stand but I don’t stand for bullshit” You can, to use the sweet American term “cuss” me out all day up hill and down dale but where I come from people have manners
When I grew up and when my son was brought, up you stepped aside for the aged, the pregnant and the disabled, you said please and thankyou and excuse me.
Yesterday Ella and I decided we needed new towels and sheets so we have a major shopping mall near us, like a small westfield. So we rolled about 20 blocks to get there.
As we got a block from the entrance we had to travel under a bridge, now the local county is refurbishing the underside so half the side walk is taken by construction fence, the amount left is so narrow if I go fast my wheels drop into the gutter so it is slowly slowly going.
As we got to the brick wall that is the start of the bridge the sidewalk narrows from 8 feet to barely 30 inches ( my chairs width) As we closed on the start of the narrow section with less than 12 inches between my chair and the wall a middle aged Chinese guy without saying a word stepped over my lap and my wheels coming so close to my thigh I would swear in a court of law he wasn’t wearing underwear because I felt the goods drag across my thigh!

Stunned I said out loud ”WHAT YOU COULDN’T WAIT TWO MINUTES ?THAT WAS AN ASSHOLE MOVE”
By the time I said it he was ten feet in front, he turned and in a very heavy Asian accent started screaming something about “fuck you you no say thing you motherfucker fuck you shut the fuck up”
Stunned at the f-bomb tirade I said out loud “WOW WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT” so from then on he spent the rest of the 100 or so feet under the bridge and the 50 yards from the bridge to the crosswalk directly before the entrance to call me everything he could that had the word fuck or mother fucker in it.
As fate would have it we arrived at the police and security controlled crosswalk at the same time, but with three or four people between us. The whole time he kept up the f-bomb tirade, but it all changed as we started to cross the crosswalk, he realizing he couldn’t scare me started in on Ella he called her first a fucking whore stunned I said “ what the fuck did you say?” his reply “fuck you and your fucking slut” Well as my Adelaide friends can tell you, when we grew up you can f-bomb us all day but you insult our mom our sisters our wives or any other female member of the clan and you will apologize.
Whenever I cross any cross walk to get up the other side I have to speed up to make it up the ramp in one go, so as I did this he stopped on the other side continuing to call Ella disgusting names. I spun to face him and screamed “you called my wife what?” Before I could prepare he punched me with both hands in the chest and my chair flipped backwards and my head smacked the ground.
Well it happened infront of two licenced security guys one an off duty NYPD officer, he was screaming he did nothing wrong security told him to shut up.
The police arrived and he was charged with felony 1st grade assault and damage to property ( yes my poor chair).

I posted a brief account on face book an old high school friend whom I love dearly comented and another woman made a comment to the effect “you attract crazies” the comment annoyed me.
Why did it annoy me? Yes in the last 6 months I have been hit by a hit and run driver and now this. On the surface I attract crazies, but if we give into that we are giving into the real problem. That problem is we have a generation of people that have drunk the koolaid and think manners are a waste of time, and respect was just the bridge to an Aretha franklin song.
Parents these days allow the household electronics to raise their children, they outsource everything they can to after school activities and the closest kids get these days to playing out side after school is playing Farmville on their computer or smart phone.
There is no family module to tell the children that respect is necessary, that antisocial behavior such as described above should never be tolerated. It’s not just the kids, and I’m sorry you can call me racist but there is a link missing in the Asian immigrant community in New York.
I have lived in flushing, Queens New York for 9 years, 90% of my neighborhood are Korean or Chinese. No matter how nice you are, no matter how hard you try they never speak to non Asians. They never say excuse me, they never say sorry, they push past you roughly and they act like the fool above. Their children are left to run around stores they are never told to stop, they will run up and deliberately scream in my service dogs face or throw objects at him and the parents laugh. If you dare say as I had to yesterday ”please keep your child away from my dog “you get abused. No I am not exaggerating, no I am not being racist, don’t believe me? come visit and walk a little behind me.
They do not like to even see the disabled on the street, I have had them scream at me “I shouldn’t have to see ugly disabled you should stay home”.
The really sad thing Is I have been to their native lands and in those countries they are polite, it seems when they landed at jfk and were asked “anything to declare” they said yes I am American now I will be rude obstinant and uncaring. They turned the American dream into the American nightmare for anyone not of their race.
I chose to live here because of my experiences in their countries, I am Buddhist I live on Asian food and try my hardest to be a good neighbor, sadly it is truly a one sided affair .
So to my Aussie friend no I don’t attract crazies, society has fallen so far that people think so little of anyone other than themselves that they would sink morally low enough to condone attacks on the disabled and elderly. To blame the disabled victim is as equally heinous as telling a woman she got raped because of her mini skirt.
It’s not just America it is the entire modern world, wake up parents stop phoning it in stop allowing youtube and Instagram to shape the future of your children, and to my immigrant neighbors leave your manners in your luggage and unpack them respectfully you need them here just like you need them back home.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

