There’s an old saying when you assume you make an ass out of you and me!

G’day folks well this morning when I opened facebook a person whom I only know through facebook we have never met posted the article below? I have always thought this woman caring and compassionate she trains service dogs and we have a friend in common. I’ll let you read it then we’ll talk some more.

Some may take offense to this so I’ll apologize in advanced but we are all entitled to our opinions.

So as I’m walking Jersey this morning, I’m walking through waterfront park. I see several men in about their 40/50’s laying on the park benches sleeping. (This was at 7:30 am)

The first thought that pops in my head is I feel bad for them. Not because they are homeless and sleeping on a bench, but because they are doing it to themselves. I feel bad that they think this is okay (and to make others feel bad for them)

We all have choices in life. If you know your going down hill financially or even if it’s a sudden thing, get off your ass and hit the streets looking for a job until you find one. Someone WILL hire you! It’s YOUR choice what happens-no excuses for it.

I feel bad for these people that believe this is the way life has to be. A motivated person will make changes and do something. I know i wouldn’t allow myself to become homeless. I would work harder and harder to make sure I’m okay…

Sucks for them that they just don’t know any better.

well everything in bold is her article? lets look at it, 1/By her opening statement she knew it was uncaring judgemental thing to say
2/ Statistically more than 70% of all americas homeless are military veterans
3/ More than 80% of all homeless deal with untreated or if treated unmedicated mental illness
4/ Combine the two above, and you have 70-80% of all homeless are living with untreated or un-medicated mental illness and have seen battle so there is also an element of that mental illness that is PTSD and other battle related diagnosis such as survivors guilt.

Noone tells the young and the brave that when they enlist and go to battle and the first time they pull the trigger on another human or see their best friend blown to bits right beside them they will never be the same. Noone tells them that they will in some cases forever feel guilty because they survived, and as I can contest noone tells you you will wake up screaming 6 times a night for the rest of your life.
Imagine trying to keep a marriage and a family together let alone keeping ajob when everytime you hear a noise your brain shifts to battle gear and you run screaming thinking everyone is the taliban. First the job goes, then the house then the kids and the wife can’t take it anymore when you’re living with these kind of battle related illnesses outdoors living with noone to care for or be responsible for is the only safe solution.
Saying these people choose to live that way because they don’t know any better is an insult to what they have done for this great nation. I hope her comments were from a base on non-education because for a person to be this judgemental when they know better would be unforgivable.
I know these people she judged, I personally choose to move amongst them to let them know someone cares. Every year Ella and go out at the first sign of snow and give out dozens of scarves and hats and gloves we buy ourselves so they can make it through the cold.
Remember everyones favorite carpenter once supposedly said two things ,the first “he who but refuses one of mine refuses me!” and secondly “judgement is mine”. So to every veteran who slept under the stars last night may your mind know peace, and thank you for your service to this nation. To my judgemental friend I would ask you to walk a mile in their shoes before you judge but 3 out 0f 5 don’t have any.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

