MTA elevators ? of course they work on any day not ending in Y

I live in flushing New york, the 7 subway station in main st is one of the deepest below ground the elevator takes you three floors down but those floors are twice as big as normal so the actual trains are about 4-5 normal floors below ground the stairs and the esculator are the steepest of any subway station in the 468 stations that make up the entire new york subway system. Because of this every single time I have to go anywhere Ella goes on http://www.mta.info and that site is updated several times a day and tells you if any trains are out and if you are disabled are the elevators you need all working.
Today I had to catch the 7 train to Queensboro plaza and then the Q to 14th st union square and then at 5.30pm do the reverse trip. According to the MTA on their site everything was working nothing out all OK.

well the trip in was all well, but at 5.30pm as we got on the train Ella went on her I-phone and told me the mta in their wisdom had decided to take the main st elevator out not for repair but just some maitenance? wtf what kind of idiot takes out a major elevator during peak hour? the answer the fools at MTA. so sure enough we get to main st and the picture below tells it all

main st 2

luckily for us anyway as we disembarked the train we saw four detectives arresting two men, so when we saw the elevator as it was above we went to them and asked “what is a wheelchair using person without the ability to stand or walk to do with such a dangerously steep and long esculator ?”

A tall plainclothes detective went into the ticket sellers booth and all she did was point to the stairs? I repeated ” can’t walk so no stairs” they offerred to carry me, I pointed out that was an impossibility, finally Ella had to walk up the several hundred stairs I had to get out on the floor and crawl onto the esculator and a officer carried my chair, now before all of you say “but Mia I thought you could do stunts?” yes on a normal one or maybe two floors up no problem, but this was an esculator that goes almost vertical for 4-5 floors. The worried officers were all behind me asking “how are you getting off? at the top I suddenly tucked and rolled onto the filthy wet cement on roosevelt ave and the officers held my chair as I crawled back into it.
Ella came shortly after. Below is the actual esculator, the light blocks some of the height.
main st 1

This is not the first time I have had to crawl up or down stairs, but this is the first time the mta that I know of have deliberately taken a perfectly good working elevator out of commission for no good reason but just because they can and now they’re keeping it out of commission until the 27th to give it a thorough cleaning and service.
Great be retro-active and service the elvator BUT NOT DURING PEAK HOUR.

Before we worry about new stations MTA, lets just get the competent management of the ones we have down pat shall we?

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

