“I’m not prepared to waste my hospital priveleges on the disabled It’s not like you had a quality of life to improve in the first place”

Since I first returned from my five month stay in Australia in march 2011, I have uncovered an insidious prevalent attitude amongst the New York medical community. That is one of refusal of necessary treatment to the permanently disabled because they think and say out loud we never had a quality of life in the first place so there is nothing to restore or improve!
Before you storm my castle with burning torches screaming LIAR LIAR, May I suggest you read on ?
In January of 2010 I was on a queensland bus service that was cut off by two drivers drag racing, and when he hit the brakes violently I was thrown flying through the air towards the windscreen and only saved by my toe being caught on a metal screen used to hold luggage. That painfull intervention by the metal screen stopped me by less than 6 inches of flying face first through the windscreen of the city bus at 80kmh.
Queensland does not secure wheelchairs on trains and buses they simply sray paint lines for you to stay within, so as the crash was happening I held on for dear life with my left arm to the strap seriously dislocating amy shoulder and tearing my rotator cup and when I landed hard on the floor near the windscreen I did the same to the other.
I was returning to New York less than 60 days later, so I waited to see a competent surgeon as Australia informed me there would be a six month waiting list.
We returned to NYC on march 22nd and within a month I was seated in front of one dr pei the head of orthopedic surgery for a major manahattan hospital,after A terrifying MRI ( i have severe claustrophobia) and a second appointment he sat in front of me and said “you have osteo arthritis all over your neck, your upper shoulders both scapulas your spine, shoulders and arms to the elbows on both sides and you have damage to both roataor cups including tearing and chips to the bone. Because of this you have regular indiscriminate dislocations. I asked him what had to be done, he replied quickly “oh you need surgery definitely surgery” when I asked when he looked at me like a deer in the headlights, and he looked at my chair and said “ your disabled ,it’s not like you had a quality of life and I don’t waste my surgical priveleges so I will not operate”
We tried to argue that he was wrong for 20 minutes he eventually just walked off.
We went to a Dr Cuomo she said the same, we went to another sports Dr who was the orthopedist for the NY Yankees and he promised surgery but never delivered and in different words they all gave the same reason “it’s not like you have any chance of not being disabled so why waste the surgery?”

Where do these people get off thinking because we have wheels under our ass or use crutches or walkers that we have no life? The most intelligent man in the world is nonverbal and permanently uses a wheelchair, I climb rock walls, I teach martial arts and I am a published author. I am multi lingual I work as an advocate for the dis and otherwise abled stop me when I get to the part where I don’t have a life, I have been married to my beautiful wife for over 15 years and we travel the world regularly.
Whether or not I have any life at all, the hipcratic oath includes the words “FIRST DO NO HARM” leaving such severe injuries un attended on anyone is to undoubtedly do harm, so for that reason alone any doctor is sworn to treat that person.
And before you say “that was 2011 I still have those untreated injuries becuase I am still getting the same answers from the medical community.
I have multiple disabilities and this is not the only area that this attitude is prevalent, but with someone who uses their arms to just move it is in my case at least the worst one.
I have had corporate buildings when busted for ADA* violations use the same reasoning for not complying “You’re disabled if you could get into my building what good would it do you can’t work?”
A friend of mine posted on her facebook the other day that when access -a-ride dropped her at her doctors and as she was wheeled into the waiting room the receptionist said very lately “PARK IT OVER THERE”
IT IN THE HEARTS AND MINDS OF THE VERY PEOPLE WHOSE JOB IT IS TO CARE FOR US WE ARE REDUCED to “its”?
I regularly come across Acces-A-ride busses parked across wheelchair ramps on the side walk with patients inside, and the driver is in a diner getting lunch? So firstly he is blocking safe access for all other disabled to cross the street, secondly after you intrusted him or her with your loved ones they are left unattended helpless on a locked bus without a nurse or attendant of any kind while he kicks back and eats ?
I have called the company and was told “HE HAS THE RIGHT TO LUNCH, WHAT IS HE MEANT TO DO TAKE THEM with him?” No he is meant to provide a level of care where at all times they’re supervised, and if that means he has to leave the bus then it is upto the company to provide a second person with nurse training to be there when he is not.
Not to mention while he is driving if there was a medical emergency what happens?
Over all America your attitude to the professional care of the disabled stinks, and if we dare speak up were vilified. Well get used to our voices, because we will not just speak up we will act up until you get your shit together!

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

