Veranda cafe care for the disabled and loves service dogs and the food is amazing

veranda1

The Verandah cafe and restaurant is on northern boulevard three quarters of the way down from flushing to bell boulevard , How do I know this?
Since returning from living back in australia for a few months from late 2010 to early 2011 It has been my routine to at least one every couple of weeks push myself on a 10 mile road roll in my wheelchair for exercise. How we do this without access to a training complex is we google earthed places five miles from home and I roll there and back, a great destination five miles from home is bell boulevard in bayside queens and to get there I had to roll past this amazing looking place in the basement level of an office building called the Verandah.
veranda2

The first time 3 years ago we had espresso and bagels the owners were greek and it might sound like a stereotype but I swear the greek community run the best diners in NYC.

The second time we didn’t eat but we checked out their brunch menu as we rolled past, it was great so we swore in the future we would come back.
It may have taken a while but today after a week from hell where I considered locking myself inside and becoming a hermit a beautiful cloudless sky and 85 degrees said to me “let’s roll” so we did.

We left home at 11 am we rolled the five miles to bayside and decided to break the session so we rolled in to the verandah, not only was there no down the nose looks at zeus and akward questions he remebered from 2 years ago that I spoke greek he welcomed me in greek and used my name he didn’t even mention zeus he gave us an amazing table made sure we were well seated and asked us what we would like, cocktails and vegan brunch , he asked if zeus would like food and water we politely declined and the fun began.

veranda 3

the maitre D nico was a gentleman he assured us the kitchen was told we were strict vegan and all food would be safe and cooked in pans not on grills or in deep fryers with animal product we chose hummus salad greek wraps and pan made fries and it was fresh, organic made in house and delicous.
veranda4
we Had a great conversation with the management about how other venues didn’t want wheelchairs threw tantrums over service animals and made going out unpleasant, he smiled and replied “never here if anyone ever did that to you here point them out I’ll fire them myself we regularly have guide dogs and service dogs here and they are always welcome, our job is to send you off full happy smiling and wanting to come back again and I hope we have done that today I thanked him in greek he replied “yassu para kalo”

To all my wheelie friends you know how hard a good place to eat is to find when you’re in a chair and have a service dog, I am yelling from the roof top the verandah on northern boulevard almost to bell boulevard is great food great atmosphere beautiful professional people serving who care about the disabled and aim to make our experience as diners no less than anyone elses and they achieve it in spades and everyone from management down to the busboy knew you don’t pat service animals and not once to did I have to stop anyone. As I looked around there were two other adults using either walkers or chairs and a special needs child in a chair and they were smiling and the plates were empty need I say more we’ll be back.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

