Pamela Is a duty manager for Starbucks at 41 union square Manhattan and she hates wheelchairs!

DSCN16228

A few days ago Ella and I were in starbucks flushing and there was a mix up and the manager gave us free passes for two drinks no matter what size what price. So today after a wonderful lunch with my nephew Matthew I needed to charge my phone and pee so starbucks at 41 union square on the corner of 17th st was my goal, I rolled in and waited patiently in line, and when it came to my turn the woman serving me was professional and lovely and I ordered my standard quad espresso and asked if they would carry it to the table for me she said of course.
I asked where the designated wheelchair table was that by rules of buying into the starbucks franchise worldwide every store must have and she had no idea what I was talking about but in a professional manner smiled and said please excuse me while I ask someone who would know.
A very large African American woman who was later identified as “PAMELA” came out I said “Hi can you point out the disabled designated table for your staff so I can roll there ?” Whaat yuu talkin about?” the table that every starbucks has for wheelchairs , “Don’t be getting in my face telling me what my store be havin or not havin This is my store!
I asked politely “excuse me maa’m are you aware of your own chains world wide rule regarding wheelchair designated tables?” there aint be no such rule I know everything about everything that why they be makin me boss!” I asked “everything?’ yes don’t be smartass everything” so then you must know about the Americans with disabilities act? Also called the ADA? She didn’t answered so I asked “maa’m you said you knew everything so of course your informed on the ADA aren’t you? Get out of my damn store I’m sick of you smart asses in wheelchairs get out I’m calling the cops and tip out the damn coffee they ain’t getting nuthin.
Calling the cops? I simply asked for my table now can I have my coffee ?
“Youse is a damn smartass gimp get out of my store and you aint getting coffee cos the cops are called “ I said to the guy with my coffee “if you want me out give me my coffee and I am out of here” I got my coffee and as I rolled out she was standing with hands on hips yelling “come in my damn store making up bullshit rules just to get a seat and telling me there is some bullshit law called the ad a or something ,get out of my damn store bitch!
I sat outside stunned and was calling starbucks corporate, they were stunned and begged forgiveness and assured me she would be dealt wit. While on the phone the first woman came out in tears saying she was embarrassed for the store and so sorry. She said her mother was in a wheelchair and she knew the ADA and had found the table, and she was still crying, She spoke to corporate and told them the manageresses actions and how crazy she got. Ten minutes later she came out saying “pamela” had sent her home for talking to me. This is not Starbucks first rodeo in disabled abuse,since 2007 they have lost court cases based on abuse of the disabled to the tune of a couple of hundred million, as just one example In one of their stores two years ago they fired a dwarf stating he scared customers off, there are dozens of disabled abuse cases involving the disabled and starbucks Well this one is not going to be one they win.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

