freedom motors disabled shuttle turns into a nightmare

dream nightmare
Every year when they hold the Abilities expo at the Edison convention centre new jersey they get one of the vendors selling wheelchair accessible vans to run a free wheelchair shuttle from the Metuchen railway center 20 minutes to the expo.
Most years it is done with professionalism and all goes well, this year we arrived at the Metuchen center on Amtrak and saw the van arrived.
A thirty something driver in a dream motors uniform opened the back door and rolled me in with Zeus, he proceeded to strap my chair in and Ella gotin the front and away we went. All went well until we arrived at expo, he opened the sliding side door and undid my front fasteners then went around to the back and dropped the ramp,
zeus loading
As we drove in I noticed three men standing in pink shirts off to one side about 10-15 yards across the car park, but I paid no real attention as there are over a hundred vendors and several thousand visitors will go through during the three day event.
The driver unstrapped my back wheels and started to roll me down the ramp with Zeus walking behind me, the ramp was very steep as the back of the van had almost a two tier system for chairs in the back suddenly he let go of my back handles and Zeus started growling like he was protecting me from strangers it made no sense as he had met the driver and was ok with him?
I found myself rolling out of control and flipping out of my chair head first toward the cement curb, Zeus was trying to jump clear of the flying chair and at the same time stay with me as I flipped out of my chair.
I was lying stunned on the road with my head slammed into the curb and Zeus was growling and I couldn’t work out what happened?
Everyone blamed Zeus, it turns out as I was being loaded down the ramp a total stranger to me and zeus suddenly started running across the car park from the group of pink shirted men waving his arms and yelling. Zeus turned and faced him seeing him as a threat, I have no problem with that I never met the man why was he running yelling towards me?
Everyone was blaming Zeus but it seems the idiot owner of the company trying to show us how wonderful his vehicles were having never met my dog or me suddenly thought he would rush up and corner Zeus to help?
His own employee had no idea what was going on so he let go of the hand grips for his boss, and the boss didn’t grab so the disabled wheelchair using person they were responsible for flipped from over 4ft in the air smacking their head with their expensive wheelchair hitting the road surface hard.
I rolled inside and confronted the owner in the pink shirt, he told me to go away it was all my fault. So Ella was furious and she went at him, twenty minutes later Mr meek and mild sheepishly apologized for his companies incompetence.
mr pink
I warn everyone just because Ella is small doesn’t mean she is a push over, this lady runs major national publishing outlets and is like a mama bear when I get hurt .
I was born in the country but whether your country or city everyone knows never corner a strange dog, never rush up yelling on a strange dog and even a highly trained service animal will protect their master.
Ask yourself if you were unloading the children from the family car and a middle aged man you had never met was running screaming towards you, would you protect the ones you love?
Well dream motors before you sell a product to the disabled community learn your head from your ass.
YOU NEVER LET GO OF THE HANDLES OF A WHEELCHAIR WITH A DISABLED PERSON IN IT ON ANY RAMP STEEP OR OTHERWISE THEIR LIFE IS IN YOUR HANDS.
I probably have a slight concussion, but I wasn’t about to let fools in shiny suits ruin my day that I had looked forward to all year. You on the other hand Freedom motors have no business anywhere near the disabled community until you learn your business.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

