Damn you your sleeping service dog hit my moving foot

When I was little and learning to walk my momma would yell “watch where you going be careful of other people” when My son was learning to walk 25 years ago I yelled “watch where your walking beware of other people” and I’m sure I’m not alone.
We were all taught that walking in public is not a solo experience, you watch out for holes in the sidewalk, old people disabled people?(yeah right) and if you are an able bodied person sans physical disability you really have no excuse at all to walk over walk into kick or trip over anyone.
Yet every single day that I roll this planet called Manhattan with wheels under my ass, I am somedays almost hourly walked into, walked over tripped over kicked and the same goes for zeus.
No matter how many times I politely attempt to explain the error of their ways they, the peripherally challenged humanus upright of the species will find as many reasons why it was my fault or zeus’s fauilt or my favorite “I trained him to deliberately walk into their foot” I swear I get that one a lot.
Today is no different but it should be because we of the big apple are almost flooded, so we never rolled the dice with the subway system today we caught a livery car from door to door. So one would assume if you were confined in the safety of the best Lincoln automobiles can produce, you couldn’t possibly encounter the weakest of the plebian council? but alas we had to disembark eventually.
So zeus and I rolled into the bean coffee shop on the corner of 12th and broadway, we rolled to a window table popular with we of the cyber addicted world because of free wifi and power points and zeus curled up under a table safe right? What could possibly happen.
Well two coffees and an everything toasted bagel with tofu spread and sliced tomato later, zeus suddenly yelps as a bald man who could be elmer fudds clone simultaneously yells “damn the mutt hit my foot”
But sir that would mean your foot was under my wheelchair and under my table “it’s a free world who are you the space police?”
No sir it seems I am the one of us with competent control of my cerebral matter ,my coordination , and that sir is a condemnation if you are less coordinated than an epileptic paraplegic?
Get over yourselves abelist world If I walked upto your table at lecerc and kicked your shins under the linen cloth I would end up meeting NYPD’s finest and some choice cell mates at rykers yet you seem to feel the privelge to do the very same is yours because of the wheels under my ass.
Well if you won’t listen to reason, if you can’t walk upright without the urge to assault the nearest gimp, hear this

ZEUS WON’T BITE BUT I WILL!

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

