Hey Mc murphy someone let the cuckoos out where are you when we need you?

Today was meant to start with code no joy because the co-op board wanted to come check all our taps for leaks, So Ella a national vice president of a major magazine in the week before they had to go to press she was forced to take the day off and you guessed it no one showed?.
So we thought why not make the best of it? We high tailed it to Manhattan and hit the one and only Green radish vegan food truck for a meal from the gods.
We ate in the beautiful sunshine of Union square and then the phone rang! Ellas sister was manic, her five year old woke up two days ago with a huge growth under his chin so she took him to the ER. An infected lymph node was the diagnosis no biggy, the tablets didn’t work and it got bigger and they were now using the Cancer word in regards to a five year old.
So we shopped for organic food but our minds were not in it we kept texting. Hematology, oncology, cat scans all on a five year old finally the all clear just infected lymph nodes so they readjusted the meds and we decided to have a few beers then dinner at Haru.
Well we ordered Edamame and green salad with ginger dressing and a vegan sushi platter and avocado maki rolls, as I started eating the edamame suddenly I was gagging as something was stuck in my throat, and as I pulled the edamame out it was wrapped in along curly hair I gagged and called the waiter. The thought that the hair off of some errant kitchen worker had gone down my throat and back had me puking the great vegan food truck food all over the bathroom of haru Japanese restaurants shi-shi bathroom with in five minutes, their apology was to give us a plate of tasteless steamed vegetables free and bring more edamame this time we hoped sans DNA.
It was not the restaurants finest hour and neither was it mine for tipping, but I don’t pay for induced puking.
So we headed for the subway, the first half on the Q to Queens Boro plaza then the 7 to main street were fun. Then we exited the platform to the elevator to take us to the surface, and despite all my puking and worry for my nephew Ryan I rolled pleasantly saying politely but loudly “excuse me wheelchair, excuse me” and as I got to the elevator door a Greek man possibly in his seventies said rudely ”there’s a line” yes I said sir but as you can see the sign there says wheelchairs first ”wait your damn turn” but sir it’s federal law it’s called the Americans with disabilities act “ I don’t think this is true you lie wait”
Each time he spoke he got louder and ruder, just then a MTA train driver was in the mix so I thought finally a voice of reason. I pleaded for him to tell them wheelchairs came first but instead he screamed so loudly he was spitting “WAIT YOUR DAMN TURN ELEVATORS ARE FOR EVERYONE NOONE GETS SPECIAL TREATMENT” so there went my idea of a uniform backing me with facts to quiet the mob. As the elevator opened the Greek screaming and shoving tried push in and I simply rolled in, and as I did my wife stepped in in front of me and suddenly the Greek shoved Ella roughly and she fell over my chair and he started throwing punches around her. This geriatric creep was beating on Ella, As the doors opened he screamed “you so fucking fat you no disabled you lazy fat” and moved on me again so the only thing left was to go pure Mc murphy one flew over the cuckoos nest batshit crazy and it worked he left.
As we rolled I saw two men one a mta cop and went over to plead my case, and as we were talking across a major road filled with traffic the abusive train driver came up the escalator on the Roosevelt avenue as he saw me he ran through traffic then threw his bag down and took a fighting pose I had had it.
Tis guy was so batshit he was throwing down in front of a cop and his supervisor, he began screaming that everyone uses elevators, no one has priority and started moving on me. Realizing I was in front of a cop I took a deep breath and said “YOU WANT A PIECE OF ME? YOU WANT TO BEAT UP A DISABLED PERSON? PLEASE DO, PLEASE THROW A PUNCH PLEASE I WILL OWN YOU, YOUR PENSION, YOUR HOME, YOUR CAR, YOUr KIDS COLLEGE FUND PLEASE ASSAULT ME” he growled and ran off ?

What is it America? the law says MTA elevators are for use of first the disabled
secondly the pregnant
thirdly the elderly
and then only then if there is room, everyone else. Get it into your skulls america I am not your bitch, we the disabled are noones bitch, WE THE PEOPLE HAVE FOUGHT LONG AND HARD FOR RIGHTS THE CIVIL RIGHTS ACT
ROWE VERSUS WADE
BROWN VERSUS THE BOARD OF EDUCATION
THE STRIKING DOWN OF DON’T ASK DON’T TELL
THE LEGALIZATION OF GAY MARRIAGE
THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT
And so much more understand this if you understand nothing else, we have rights we will enforce our rights and if you don’t like it and the best you got is to call the disabled fat and beat up women then fuck you and the horse you rode in. Were going nowhere but in the damn elevator as is our federal right, we don’t get on the back of the bus, we don’t use separate water fountains, we will not be segregated and we will marry the person we love no matter their gender. Because these are rights that the supreme court has ratified for the people of color, people with disabilities, the LGBTQ,and women. if you don’t like it go back to the rock you crawled out from under.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

