G’day to my girlfriends on the “Girl in the pink wheelchair” From the Aussie woman in the purple one

G’day girls, I write a blog called http://www.disabledaccessdenied.com It was started on january 4th 2011 on the advice of my wife, (yes girls I said wife I am a fifty something gay woman married to a beautiful gay woman) you see before I was in this purple beauty I was a martial arts champion in four different arts and I took rubbish verbally from noone but after my first year with wheels under me and the constant disrespect I got from bored teens who thought everything from tipping to standing and blocking my way was funny my wife advised me to choose a good defense attorney or start telling the world I chose he latter.
My first day nobody told me others could read this thing called a blog, I thought it was the computer version of the diary I kept under my mattress when I was young. The first day 40 people read my first piece called DISABLED NOT DISCARDED, the first month 500 wow I was famous I thought.

I wrote about all the horrible people that gave me a hard time each day, and after about fifty posts I asked my best friend a highly realized Buddhist monk what he thought of my writing. He thought a while and then said quietly “If you must throw this ongoing pity party at least hire a caterer!” wow I would have yelled at him but someone does not yell at someone who has the dalai lamas phone number in his I-phone so I bit my tongue and thought about it

A week later I had the realization that as a disabled woman if this discrimination happened to me every day, who was I to think that I was the only person with wheels under me in the world that it was happening to and I either started writing for the benefit of all or called that caterer again wisely chose the later.

Today my blog has on average 250-270,000 regular readers in over 100 countries , well girls through my writing careers as an advocate, a journalist and now a published author have come to be. As the realization taught me those 3 years and 3,000 stories ago If it’s happening to me It’s happening to all of us so please check out my blog and let me know if there is anyway I can put my readership at your disposal to help a worthy cause

your friend in the purple chair Mia G vayner and my faithful service dog Zeus

zeus4

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

