Bert Matthews, 92, allegedly tackled and shackled at hospital

safe image2

B.C. senior speaks out about his treatment at a Vancouver Island hospital

CBC News Posted: Apr 07, 2014 6:09 AM PT|

A B.C. senior is speaking out about the traumatizing treatment he received at a recent visit to Victoria General Hospital.

Bert Matthews, 92, was rushed to the emergency room after fearing he was having a stroke or possibly a heart attack.

But after an initial examination, he found himself admitted to a psychiatric ward.

It was the middle of the night, and he decided he shouldn’t be there.

“So, I got up and I got dressed and I was trying to get out,” he said.

That’s when he was tackled by staff attempting to restrain him, Matthews said.

“Four nurses attacked me,” he said.

“They jumped on me, held me down, pinned me to the bed and shackled me.”

The struggle left his hands cut and bruised.

His son, Bob Matthews, came to visit and found him in bed with a restraining strap across his chest. His legs and hands were also tied down.

Bob Matthews heard his dad calling out, and found him tied to a hospital bed. (CBC)

“I could hear Dad calling, so I went right into the room and he was tied down to the bed. I couldn’t believe it,” Matthews said.

Due to privacy legislation, hospital officials won’t discuss the family’s allegations. But in response to CBC’s inquiries, the Vancouver Island Health Authority issued a statement.

“Island Health regrets that the family is dissatisfied with the care their father received… we will look into the circumstances surrounding the case,” said the statement.

Last week, another elderly couple complained they were deemed mentally unfit at Royal Jubilee and are being held against their will at Victoria General Hospital..
■Elderly couple demand hospital end ‘illegal detention’

Recently, B.C. became the first Canadian province to appoint a seniors’ advocate in response to reports of widespread systemic problems with elder care.

“British Columbians in general and seniors in particular need to be assured that I will do whatever is necessary to advocate what is in their best interests,” Isobel Mackenzie said following her appointment in March.

Bert Matthews says nothing in his life, not even fighting in the Second World War, prepared him for what happened during his hospital visit. (CBC)

Matthews, a retired lawyer and decorated Second World War bomber pilot, said he thought he’d seen it all, until that recent hospital visit.

“I’ve been shot at…I’ve been machine-gunned. I’ve been everything, but it’s not as bad as being strapped to bed as a helpless big man.”

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

