” Hey toronto internation were wheelchair users not livestock enough with the coralling”

Well you’ve read the previous story you know how upsetting the loading onto the plane was but the flight to toronto was only one hour and two minutes, it actually takes longer on the subway to get home from manhattan. As a mea culpa the plane pulled upto a skywalk at pearson international, and they even had a polite young disabled assistance officer to meet the plane. He got us off the plane, down through a very long walkway of several hundred yards to the elevators to customs, so far so good. we got to the elevators and I yelled over my shoulder”which one”? none he replied wheelchairs go around the corner. Okay I thought he meant there was a ramp, as I rounded the bend there before me were at least two dozen manual wheelchair users of all ages, all nationalities, from several different planes all marshalled like a mob of sheep waiting to be sheared?

I asked him whats this? he replied “this is where wheelchair users have to wait until we have enough of you to warrant taking you down?” warrant taking you down? yes he replied “we single out the disabled and make them wait here then when we get enough then we open a gate and take you down to customs to process you all together?” WTF? “What do you mean make me wait till theres enough? what happens if their is not enough?”
“Then you wait till there is” what if it takes a while? “you wait?”
I angrily turned and said “I am a citizen with rights, not a cow waiting for slaughter or the sheep dog to come herd me and I would like to go to customs because I arrived not because someone decided the special bus here ”
He nervously said “we don’t normally do that but I suppose” we went down the elevator as we got to customs the officer pointed to the now gathering of over two dozen wheelies and my assistant nervously said”we have a special request please she doesn’t want to be over there”.
The customs guy reluctantly waved us over, but he was pleasant professinal and welcomed us to canada.

Has anyone else ever been forced to be segregated from other passengers and taken to a different part of the airport to wait simply because their disabled? I am not talking about an organised tour or team, I am talking one from this plane, four from that six over here all from diffferent countries the only thing in common was the wheels under your ass?
Segregation in the states went out with brown versus the board of education and the civil rights act. Canada is a wonderful country, the cabs are amazing the people polite the hotels comfortable and were having the time of my life, but hey customs if I want a bloody sheep dog to corral me into a mob for the abbatoir I have zeus, but when I fly the only seggregation is the cost of my ticket and whether I am a citizen or a tourist get your act together and lose the mob mentality

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

One thought on “” Hey toronto internation were wheelchair users not livestock enough with the coralling””

Leave a Reply

