using wheelchair in manhattan shouldn’t be a game of dodge ball with stupid people!

The average Manhattan side walk s about 8 feet wide so why when you have 12 inches one side of my chair and 3-4 feet the other why do you choose the smallest side?

Today we had to take my rock star service dog Zeus to the vet, but the new york metropolitan transport authority chose to close half the seven train line which means no direct route so because of their wisdom Zeus Ella and I had to get off at 74th st change to the f train get off that at 63rd and Lexington and roll 30 blocks to the vet.

The roll wasn’t the problem, the fools allowed to share the sidewalk were! In upper Manhattan because they like to look after the haves more than the have nots so the side walks on average are 7-8feet wide now I am in a chair 34 inches wide so that leaves 3-4 of clear sidewalk? Now common sense says when you’re walking down the street and you see the wheelchair , the service dog you’re faced with a decision, 12 inches one side or a clear yard on the other?
hmm let me see, 50% or close to that of the American society are morbidly obese so one would think the 12 inches is clearly out of the question but I can tell you in 30 blocks I rubbed more genitals and f lubber thighs of both gender without a single word of apology. And if by chance because of their inability to asses spacial equations they are hurt or embarrassed I was blamed?

Whats up folks? your dress size is 4xl and the fake fendi bag with your yappy monster teacup terrier in it takes up another foot and you haven’t seen your toes since the first bush was president yet you still think you fit through a gap of less than a foot? There is room for all of us and your dog in a bag just use common sense choose the light lady, move towards the light I like jello as much as the next thing but not when it’s wrapped in spandex printed with purple leopard print.

And hey when you open doors onto the street look who’s already there and when you see a wheelchair on the sidewalk cut waiting to cross don’t step directly across my lap like your expecting me to stick dollar notes in your waist band and then abuse me when I ask you what the hell your doing you might have a future in lap dance but I didn’t book one.

The next thing that became quickly apparent today is it doesn’t matter how much money you have or where you got your education to quote Forrest gump stupid is as stupid does and as for the box of chocolates well put it down people the leopard print today was screaming for mercy in three different languages.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

Leave a Reply

