ZEUS MY SERVICE DOG TURNS TWO TODAY, HE IS NOW A QUALIFIED LEGAL SERVICE DOG AND THE BEST AID IN MY DAY TO DAY LIFE AS A DISABLED PERSON.

In may 2012 I was introduced to a baby Belgian Malinois shepherd who had a really stupid name and when I held him I joked “wow, tough name do the other puppies tease you?” then I was told he could be my service dog so suddenly he reminded me of my gentle giant of a rotweiller zeus who died in 2003 from epilepsy.
zeus1

I said “you remind me of zeus” the moment I said it he turned and licked my face, so I told them “change his name to zeus and I’ll have him” they said no problem and he became mine. He was born on febuary 2012 and today my beautiful boy turns two he finished his official training a couple of months ago but he amazes me every day.
zeus4

The picture below was taken on his home visit he weighed 6pounds and was 8 inches high and 10 inches long.
ZEUS HOME

We decided that if zeus was to be a New york Based service dog owned by a chef of over 30 years he had to love the subway and behave in restaurants and hotels and cabs and livery cars.

So the first day we had him we caught a livery car to outward bound climbing clinic, and a subway home the picture below is him with Kareemah batts the first day we got him acting like he was an old hand at his job.
ZEUS 8

When he first started on subways he would get between Ellas ankles and shuffle his butt under the seat until he was invisible, it worked at 6lpounds but now at 65pounds and 30 inches long and 28 inches high he still does it cute isn’t it?.
zeus3

Zeus quickly became an old hand at restaurants and international hotels his credits include.

The New York waldorf astoria
Zeus's castle

Hilton hotel south carolina
zeus 2

Plaza athanee Manhattan and The Eaton chelsea toronto canada

His airline credits include return flights on Delta to and from savannah Georgia and he handled the TSA and the airlines like a rockstar.
zeus on plane1

zeus flying

Today my hero turns two, in the last 6 months he has stopped two muggings and stood by me through me being knocked out of my wheelchair by bike messengers, he has alerted to hundreds of seizures pulled my wheelchair like a sled dog when I was incapacitated.
With My PTSD when it hits he will put his body over my lap and if I don’t immediately pat he will grab my hand in his mouth drop it on his back then look at me like “pat me stupid”
His best training is when I am on a subway platform or at the corner of the street waiting for a light to cross, he puts himself between me and the rail line platform edge or the corner of the road and if I start to roll he pulls on the waist leash and runs back to anchor me.
zeus platform

No matter how many times you try on the subway platform to move closer to the edge while the subway is still coming to a stop, he will not allow me until it is completely stopped, I have never felt so safe especially with the amount of people who have been pushed infront of trains lately.
In short zeus is my protector, my medical aid a best friend and when ptsd is at it’s worst a soft place to fall. All this in two year years one can only imagine the future.
HAPPY 2ND BIRTHDAY ZEUS

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

One thought on “ZEUS MY SERVICE DOG TURNS TWO TODAY, HE IS NOW A QUALIFIED LEGAL SERVICE DOG AND THE BEST AID IN MY DAY TO DAY LIFE AS A DISABLED PERSON.”

Leave a Reply

