Hey bicyclists it is illegal for anyone over 12years of age to ride on a side walk for good reason

Yesterday after almost two weeks of being snowed in I finally broke free , ( sounds of Freddy mercury singing as I left the house) I have described to you the reader many times before if safety as a wheelchair user concerns you or your loved ones. Then go out on weekends try many cafés and restaurants until you find that one where the coffee is great the service even better and the people really care and make that you’re base. For me in New York that’s the bean on 12th and broadway for coffee and breakfast , the union square coffee shop restaurant (coffee shop is the actual name but it’s a restaurant and bar) for drinks and meals and any business meeting just ask for Carlos and tell them Mia sent you. In South Carolina it’s common ground for coffee and panini for meals in Beaufort,and in Brooklyn it’s the chocolate room .In Adelaide Australia it’s zumas.

Well yesterday using that system I caught the subway to union square for breakfast at the bean,then wheeled all the way across manhattan to Ella’s office about ten blocks then I rolled back for lunch with Carlos .
Zeus and I were making good time until we we got to the corner of 18th and broadway in union square,as I was starting the crossing two bike messengers appeared from nowhere one zipped each side and somehow knocked me so hard my chair flipped, as I was going down the steep ramp I flipped out and became airborne, as I looked down suddenly a car bonnet was under me.
in the moment I had no idea if the car was moving and thought I was about to die. Thankfully the car was parked, I slid off the bonnet to the ground. Stunned I suddenly realized Zeus had been waist leashed to me and must have flown to, I worried and looked for him but then a voice said “nice doggy” and asked me to reel him in. Ilooked and he was guarding my body and letting no one come near.
I commanded my best friend and he stood down and I was helped into my chair.
As I reached the other side of the crossing I did something I hadn’t done in years ,I sat and cried like a baby.
I was three blocks from Carlos’s restaurant so in. Total fog I rolled there . As I entered I saw people staring ,Carlos saw me then the owner asked what happened, I had landed in a puddle and it seems was sopping wet on my legs and had a red mark on my face.
The staff were wonderful And I was dry in no time and had a free stiff drink to warm me up. and was given a place where I could sit and check Zeus and give him a huge hug for being the amazing animal he is.

Now you say did the bike messengers help? No they laughed flipped the bird and rode off. Was I on their road and in the wrong ? No they were on the sidewalk and breaking the law.
This is not my first close call with these cowboys this is just the worst. If I hit someone in my chair I get in trouble, yet these notorious cowboys have been the bane of pedestrians for so long they even write them into movies and celebrate their sidewalk antics but I’m sorry I was assaulted and the bikes were the weapon what they did was a crime and they left the scene if they were in cars it would be hit and run .

Not giving them any excuse but the ramp I was on was so steep it was in no way to code,so Newyork you’re incompetence strikes again. If it wasn’t for me having my city mapped out with safe caring places to fall like the bean and coffee shop I would have been wet bruised and crying ten miles from home totally alone.
So to my friends ,find your sanctuaries know your surroundings always be safe and roll on.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

2 thoughts on “Hey bicyclists it is illegal for anyone over 12years of age to ride on a side walk for good reason”

  1. On my fantasy list for potential City Council hearing topics/bill is the requirement that messangers wear vests with the company name & id # (same as is finally working its way thru restaurant delivery bicyclists).

Leave a Reply

