I wish I was in Dixie away away in Dixie land I’ll take a stand! Yes a stand against nonADA compliant businesses down south

I recently returned from south Carolina where in Beaufort county I was fairly lucky with business accessibility for the disabled,but the sidewalks well it would be nice if they existed and where they do making them only two foot wide with the light poles in the middle isn’t antebellum it’s anti disabled and downright illegal.

Now being a damn yanky technically, I didn’t want to start another war of northern aggression again so I didn’t say much.today however my group of southern belle friends in charleston said it all for me. one by one Marka Danielle , Brenda brown parent and several others who are charleston based wrote on Facebook of ramps blocked by cars, ramps that lead nowhere and no ramps at all no matter how many times the owners were told made me feel not so yanky If you think the non existent ramps were bad enough,the non existent disabled bathrooms were the last straw and left we who have wheels under our ass without a pot to piss in literally.

The south in certain parts may wish they were a seperate nation,but until that day they’re American and they’re in breach of the Americans with disabilities act .
So good ol boys get with the law and care for we the people,or there just might be some federal aggression hitting your bank accounts in the form of federal fines.

Author: disabledaccessdenied

I am a disabled woman who through no fault of my own has wheels under my ass. I rely on the decency and common sense of local, state and federal goverments, as well as the retail community to abide by the disabled access laws and provide adequate ramps, disabled toilets, and not use them as store rooms or broom closets. This blog exists to find the offenders and out them, inform them, and report them if necessary and shame them into doing the right thing when all else fails.

1 thought on “I wish I was in Dixie away away in Dixie land I’ll take a stand! Yes a stand against nonADA compliant businesses down south”

  1. Since writing the story above, the Southern Belles mentioned in the story above have sent me this short but infamous list of disabled access offenders which im sure will grow by the hour.

    Thanks Marka and Brenda:

    Boulevard diner, mt pleasant, sc
    Sweet water cafe, James island sc
    Oriental gardens, mt. Pleasant, sc

    Illegal bathrooms at Zaxbys in west Ashely, sc

    And supposedly disabled room in the courtyard inn in Decatur ga – doors were unable to be opened if on a chair

    Marriott courtyard charleston sc – same issue as previous hotel mentioned

    Page’s ocra grill in mt. Pleasant has no disabled parking and person in chair was nearly hit when try were dropping car ramp down.

    Famous hominy grill in sc- there is no parking for disabled

Leave a Reply

